Just made my mark in a Shanhai arcade

2D Shooters Invade
scarper
128-bit

Just made my mark in a Shanhai arcade

Post by scarper »

I'm studying abroad in China this year, and just found one of the many local arcades. Since then, I've been playing DoDonPachi Dai-Ou-Jou quite a bit, and just got the top of their leaderboards. This is at the Feng Yun Zai Qi Game Center by People's Square in Shanghai.

http://imgur.com/a/bkgLh

The score probably isn't even that great, but there's something about getting the top score at an Asian arcade. I dunno. It's like I've reached a euphoric state of gaming nirvana.

Unfortunately, I have only seen three shmup machines in all of china so far, but they do love fighters, racers, and light gun games. King of Fighters appears to be the most popular by far, more so than Street Fighter. One of the shmups I saw looked like a Castle of Shikigami knock-off using KoF/Fatal Fury characters. You can dodge bullets as Terry Bogard, Mai, and four others. It was actually pretty good.
fastbilly1
Site Admin

Re: Just made my mark in a Shanhai arcade

Post by fastbilly1 »

Congrats man, thats awesome

scarper wrote:One of the shmups I saw looked like a Castle of Shikigami knock-off using KoF/Fatal Fury characters. You can dodge bullets as Terry Bogard, Mai, and four others. It was actually pretty good.

Most likely The King of Fighters: Sky Stage. But possibly NeoGeo Heroes:Ultimate Shooting
scarper
128-bit

Post by scarper »

fastbilly1 wrote:Congrats man, thats awesome

scarper wrote:One of the shmups I saw looked like a Castle of Shikigami knock-off using KoF/Fatal Fury characters. You can dodge bullets as Terry Bogard, Mai, and four others. It was actually pretty good.

Most likely The King of Fighters: Sky Stage. But possibly NeoGeo Heroes:Ultimate Shooting

Thanks!