(Seeking Advice) I want to play a cRPG. Where should I begin

Level up here
GrouchoGlasses
16-bit

(Seeking Advice) I want to play a cRPG. Where should I begin

Post by GrouchoGlasses »

Title says it all, but there are some stipulations. I'm looking for advice on what is an excellent first cRPG (the release of Pillars of Eternity has me thinking if this should be my first one).

I'm not looking for the "Citizen Kane" of cRPG, so please, no recommendations of whatever games land on the top of critics' lists for the sole reason they are on the top of critics' lists. I want a game that is easily accessible in modern gaming sensibilities. This has me leaning towards the more modern Wasteland 2, Divinity - Original Sin, Shadowrun - Dragonfall, Pillars of Eternity, etc. However, perhaps the mid-90's golden age cRPGs are truly the greatest in all categories.

Try to place yourself in the position of a complete novice in regards to the realm of the cRPG. What game would you play first?

Also, is there any advice regarding how one should approach their first cRPG that you wish was told to you when you first began in the genre?
Ack

Re: (Seeking Advice) I want to play a cRPG. Where should I b

Post by Ack »

Baldur's Gate was where I got into the genre. It would be helpful to have a little knowledge about Dungeons and Dragons 2nd edition, so you understand just what THAC0 is, but it offers a lot of different characters to seek out, gives the player a lot of opportunity to explore on their own, doesn't hold your hand, but has a lot of versatility depending on your playstyle.
BoneSnapDeez
Next-Gen

Post by BoneSnapDeez »

Ultima VI: The False Prophet (on PC) is one of the more accessible games in the series. I'd start with something like that. Betrayal at Krondor would also be a fine choice.

Of course if you want to ease yourself in with something more action-oriented check out Diablo II.
Exhuminator
Next-Gen

Post by Exhuminator »