How could a game have taught your favorite topic in school?

The Philosophy, Art, and Social Influence of games
J T
Next-Gen

How could a game have taught your favorite topic in school?

Post by J T »

Hopefully you guys can come up with some creative answers to this.

I'm interested in how games could make learning more fun, and possibly do a better job than traditional text and instruction. My area is the psychological sciences and I'll have more to say on that later, but get creative and share your thoughts on a video game that could teach the major skills/concepts of your area of expertise.

To aid in thinking:

What are the goals of your profession/area?
What are the methods to achieve those goals?
How can that be gamified?
My contributions to the Racketboy site:
Browser Games ... Free PC Games ... Mixtapes ... Doujin Games ... SotC Poetry
Curlypaul
Next-Gen

Re: How could a game have taught your favorite topic in scho

Post by Curlypaul »

Well I'm a software engineer, so solving logical problems is the main task I face each day.

I thought Chu Chu Rocket did a pretty good job of that. Each problem had a logical solution, personally I traced backwards from the goal until I reached the start point and with some trial and error on the harder levels.

I also thought the original Sim City taught me a lot about urban geography and the general dynamics of a town. Reading a map is important for many other games. Resource management is another that crops up a lot.

All games are some sort of learning experience - the game presents you with the need to learn a new skill to progress, you master it and move onto the next challenge. To try and work academic subjects into here, they have to be covered in a vale of fun.

Sorry, I don't think is quite what you are after but I'm not really one of those people that brim with ideas, I create solutions that make other peoples ideas real. Interesting topic though.
Menegrothx
Next-Gen

Post by Menegrothx »