Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
jedah
8-bit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:32 pm

Dreamcast Mod Chip Question

by jedah Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:53 pm

Would fitting a mod chip in my Dreamcast mean that I dont have to use a boot disk anymore for any non self boot games that i have. If not could someone explain what they do please. The only reason I am asking is they seem to be quite cheap and if it means no more boot disks then i will get one.

Thanks in advance.

J.
User avatar
Clockwork
24-bit
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:59 am
Location: ammerndorf, franconia, germany

by Clockwork Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:02 pm

afaik the chips are only used to get some dreamcasts sucking burned discs. you still had to use bootable games/boot discs...
know your roots !!!
jedah
8-bit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:32 pm

by jedah Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:14 pm

Thanks for the response.

J.
User avatar
Mozgus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6630
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:31 pm

by Mozgus Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:16 pm

Dreamcast mod chips are only for playing legit imported games. They don't have any effect on playing backups. Not the chips I've looked into anyway.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9486
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:44 pm

Mozgus wrote:Dreamcast mod chips are only for playing legit imported games. They don't have any effect on playing backups. Not the chips I've looked into anyway.


That's the impression I've had as well
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:12 pm

Mozgus wrote:Dreamcast mod chips are only for playing legit imported games. They don't have any effect on playing backups. Not the chips I've looked into anyway.

I will confirm that as well... they are ONLY for region changing.
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
User avatar
Clockwork
24-bit
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:59 am
Location: ammerndorf, franconia, germany

by Clockwork Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:00 pm

really? ok, sorry had something wrong in my head then...

i was never really deep in dc-modchips, cause my dc simply plays everything. from imports to backups :-) without anything.
know your roots !!!
User avatar
Mozgus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6630
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:31 pm

by Mozgus Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:08 pm

I've considered buying one so I dont have to swap out to get my few import games to work, like Headhunter and Shenmue 2. But it's probably not worth the risk. The mod chips are a tad more complicated then PS1 or Saturn, and Dreamcasts are becoming harder to fix or replace now.
CurulleanCat
32-bit
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:04 pm

by CurulleanCat Tue Aug 01, 2006 7:35 am

if you can find a gameshark for teh dc you can just swap and play imports. Thats how I used to play my powerstone 2.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests