Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
VerizonEmailSucks
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:18 pm

Saturn Picture Wiggly w/ Modchip

by VerizonEmailSucks Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:24 pm

My modchip's installed correctly, I've followed the instructions down to the last word...Twice. But everytime I have the modchip plugged in, the image quality looks like crap. Everything else about the Saturn works great, but the picture's awful. If the modchip's unplugged the picture looks fine. Anyone else encounter this? It's terribly annoying.
VerizonEmailSucks
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:18 pm

by VerizonEmailSucks Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:28 am

Well ain't that a bitch. I just figured it out. I think the chip causes some kind of interference when I use an RF unit. It looks fine when I use AV. It kinda sucks because I need the RF unit for the TV I use the Saturn with. Maybe it's just another reason why I should get an RF modulator. Ah well. If you guys didn't know this happened already, this is a good problem to note.

ADD: And I know it isn't the RF unit at fault, because it looks fine hooked up to a different Saturn that lacks the chip.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9486
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:34 am

I'm not quite sure how the chip would cause interferance....
Could it be possible that the video port might be damaged?
ravenmgs
24-bit
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:13 am

by ravenmgs Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:39 pm

Never had any troubble with mine, sounds like a sheilding issue.
VerizonEmailSucks
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:18 pm

by VerizonEmailSucks Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:49 pm

Shielding where? The RF unit?

Racketboy: How would I be able to tell?
User avatar
Pullmyfinger
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:49 pm
Location: Orange County

by Pullmyfinger Sat Aug 05, 2006 3:38 pm

Just stick to A/V, RF is soooo last century :P
VerizonEmailSucks
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:18 pm

by VerizonEmailSucks Sat Aug 05, 2006 11:32 pm

Pullmyfinger wrote:Just stick to A/V, RF is soooo last century :P

I would if my TV supported it.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9486
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Sun Aug 06, 2006 7:12 am

VerizonEmailSucks wrote:Shielding where? The RF unit?

Racketboy: How would I be able to tell?



I'm not much of a shielding expert, but it does sounds like a valid cause...
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests