Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
jedah
8-bit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:32 pm

Saturn RGB Scart Lead with Audio out

by jedah Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:09 pm

Does anyone know if you can buy Saturn RGB cables with separate audio out leads. I have all of my consoles running through my Hi-Fi bar this one.

Or could i disconnect the 2 Audio wires from the Scart end of the lead put phono leads on the end and use it that way. (this is just an idea. I really dont know if this is how it works. So apologies if it is a stupid suggestion.)

J.

P.S. Sorry for the bombardment of questions. I am a bit of an Uber-noob. :oops:
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:02 pm

What are you saying exactly?

You want to send the RGB signals to one switching box or the TV, while you send the audio the other direction to a audio receiver (or as you said Hi-Fi)?

If this is so I don't believe they sell SCART connectors with the audio cables seperated from the SCART plug. You'll probably only find RGB in SCART form anyways.

What I'd suggest is that if your running multiple consoles RGB via SCART is invest in a SCART switch box; most SCART switch boxes will give you the option to send the audio via the SCART connector or via RCA connectors when it leaves the switch box.

Your other option is hacking the SCART cable and pulling the audio cables and sending it out via RCA from that. But if you've never done this before I wouldn't suggest it as you'll lose a lot of audio quality this way.
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
User avatar
Clockwork
24-bit
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:59 am
Location: ammerndorf, franconia, germany

by Clockwork Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:50 pm

lordofduct wrote:Your other option is hacking the SCART cable and pulling the audio cables and sending it out via RCA from that. But if you've never done this before I wouldn't suggest it as you'll lose a lot of audio quality this way.


why?
know your roots !!!
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:06 pm

Poor soldering, cheap wire, bad shielding... a lot of things will cause sound quality loss. It isn't really noticeable if your just running it to the TV or a cheap sound system. Buy I'm pretty sure that if he has a "Hi-Fi" system he is probably more concerned about sound quality that will show through on a nice sound system as crackling and fuzzy distortion.
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
User avatar
Clockwork
24-bit
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:59 am
Location: ammerndorf, franconia, germany

by Clockwork Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:10 pm

Image

something like this would be easiest ;-)

but we had just the disc. bout signal quality :-)
know your roots !!!
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:27 pm

That would be the best option.
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests