Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
jedah
8-bit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:32 pm

RGB Scart Switcher

by jedah Mon Jul 17, 2006 2:20 pm

I was wondering if any of you could recommend a good RGB Scart switcher box. I am using one a t the moment (A pretty cheap one,switchless) but the colours dont seem to be as sharp or bright as they are when I plug them directly into the back of my T.V. Is this because it is a switchless one or just because I have bought some rubbish. Any help would be good . I am sure there are a number of you out there that have too many consoles plugged into one t.v. like me. :wink:

Thanks in Advance.

J.
User avatar
Clockwork
24-bit
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:59 am
Location: ammerndorf, franconia, germany

by Clockwork Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:17 pm

oh man, i have walked a long way with this question.

but first: your switchless scart-switcher (...) is not the only problem in quality loss. if you hooked up more devices at once (like a ps2) it could also be that these cant coop with each other... not very technical, just for saying it :-)

the question is, how many ports you need, cause there are good switches to 6. if you need more it gets problematic (i`d need 12...)
my final decision was to construct an electrical rgb-switch with a friend by ourselves :-)
know your roots !!!
jedah
8-bit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:32 pm

by jedah Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:03 pm

I have 5 connected at the moment (PSOne, Saturn, Xbox, Dreamcast, Gamecube). But I will definetely be requiring at least another 2 shortly. Which one would you recomend with 6 inputs. Also I dont mind if it dosent automatically switch once the console is switched on. It can have manual switches on the front if it improves the picture.

Cheers

J.
User avatar
Clockwork
24-bit
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:59 am
Location: ammerndorf, franconia, germany

by Clockwork Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:32 pm

ok, the only thing i found this quick was the link from our lord http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/joytech-av-control-centre-2.html Yaieh, great thing!!!

the other ones i considered to buy seem to be no longer, there are only those 3to1-switches...grml...
know your roots !!!
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:16 pm

Clockwork wrote:ok, the only thing i found this quick was the link from our lord http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/joytech-av-control-centre-2.html Yaieh, great thing!!!

the other ones i considered to buy seem to be no longer, there are only those 3to1-switches...grml...


Funny thing is when I started reading this post I was going to post that same exact switch. Great quality build. Down side is it really isn't 6 input... it only has 5 SCART inputs. Using two of these hooked into to two different SCART inputs on your TV would work great (if you have 2 SCART inputs on your TV).

If you don't have 2 inputs though I really don't advise running two boxes to a third box... that would drop quality across all consoles. What'd I'd do (and is what I used to do before I bought my new TV) is make a daisy chain and have the consoles you are less concerned about on the end...

So you'd plug the consoles you don't care about into one box, then output that to a second box and use one of its inputs for the first box, and the other ports for the consoles you do want better quality from. Then send this second box to the TV. When you want to use consoles off of the first box you will hit the button on box 2 for the first box, and then hit the button on the first box for your console.


[EDIT] If you have the money though you should look into seeing if zektor makes SCART switches. I know they do RGB, Component, DVI and VGA switches up to 6 port... and they are of amazing quality using relays to swap between inputs which reduces noise in the picture.

The big problem with looking for switches that can handle a lot of inputs and have a high quality picture. Because the market is so small (who are the consumers looking for 10 way switches... a few retro gamers, stores, other professional applications that are very limited). They just don't make them very often, and rarely with high quality components.
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
User avatar
Clockwork
24-bit
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:59 am
Location: ammerndorf, franconia, germany

by Clockwork Mon Jul 17, 2006 8:38 pm

what most people don`t know over here is that most of the tvs sold over here have two scart ports, but the joke is: only one of these does rgb... (did never get to the why...)
know your roots !!!
jedah
8-bit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:32 pm

by jedah Tue Jul 18, 2006 3:31 pm

Yeah my T.V. has 2 scart inputs but only one is RGB???!!!!. Thanks for your help though guys I think I will have to use the daisy chain option.

J.
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Tue Jul 18, 2006 7:41 pm

I wouldn't doubt that... damn companies are cheap.
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests