Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
POOPIESkillz
8-bit
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:33 pm
Location: Miami, Florida, USA

PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by POOPIESkillz Sat Jul 27, 2019 2:11 am

Hey there guys. This seemed like the right place to post this thread. If not, please let me know. This was pulled from another thread.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ziggy587 wrote:
POOPIESkillz wrote:the main menu and the games switch resolutions so my component cables would give my TV the dreaded "no signal" message.


Ugh, that's the worst! Last year I drew a line in the sand at 480p and have been playing all lower resolutions on a CRT again. It's not nearly as hard to get things too look good (often taking no effort at all) and everything "just works."

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm actually having trouble with my Wii and PS2 using component as we speak. I'm using them on a "new" TV and it just doesnt seem to display correctly at all. I say "new" because my main HDTV used to be a Hitachi from 2014 that was good with everything I threw at it.

But that TV's backlight died on me so my girlfriend's mom gave me her dad's old TV as a temporary replacement. Its a 32" Sony Bravia from somewhere between '09 - '13 if I had to guess. Long story short, when we moved into our new place, I got a nice new 4K HDTV as my game room's modern display. Trouble is, the new one only has HDMI and composite so I've also kept the Bravia around since it has those inputs plus component and VGA.

When I'd use the Wii and PS2 on the Hitachi with component, I got a ton of ghosting at first. But once I got different cables, it was perfect. But now, it seems like no matter what cables I use with the Bravia, it looks wrong. Lots of artifacts, pretty blurry even for 480i, ghosting in a few games such as Star Wars Battlefront, and it seems like the aspect ratio is just a complete disaster. Both the PS2 and Wii settings are set to 16:9 and the games that support it are set to 16:9 but the TV keeps them either in 4:3 or a stretched 4:3, AKA not a real 16:9. Any insight on this? Should I post this in another thread?

EDITS:

The model of the TV is the Sony Bravia KDL-32BX300. I found pictures here and here and I found this thread but it's not the same issue I'm having but he also claims its the TV and not his cables. Oh, and the TV is from 2011.

For clarification, when I said there were lots of artifacts, I mean compression artifacts. And it seems especially apparent with the PS2.

So I also learned in a My Life in Gaming video today that the PS2 processes video somewhat uniquely and a bunch of games have a lot more motion blur in their PS2 versions vs their GCN and Xbox counterparts. This also means that a PS2 cleans up shockingly well with a CRT. My current CRT is only capable of composite. My other one that had S-Video inputs very recently died on me. So should I just run it with composite on the CRT rather than on an HDTV with component? I'm at a loss with this one.

Despite the new information, any insight with this? It has to be the TV. No matter what settings I choose in game, on the console itself, for both the PS2 and Wii, or my TV, it looks bad and both systems downright REFUSE to work properly in widescreen. Even when I stretch the image, it doesnt take up the whole screen. There's an inch or more on each side that arent being used. Its very strange. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
I didn't know what to put for my signature, so I got you this box.
User avatar
POOPIESkillz
8-bit
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:33 pm
Location: Miami, Florida, USA

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by POOPIESkillz Sat Jul 27, 2019 2:20 am

Also, seeking answers let me stumble upon this awesome TV that I didnt know existed. It seems to be the same model but a bit smaller and with a built in PS2! Very cool!
I didn't know what to put for my signature, so I got you this box.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12323
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by Ziggy587 Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:28 pm

For the Wii, since you're using component cables, do you have the output set to 480p? As for the PS2, you can force progressive scan output using software called GS Mode Selector (which I believe is an option included in Open PS2 Loader now).

A cheap component to HDMI adapter might also solve your problems. For example: https://www.amazon.com/Portta-N3CVRHP-C ... ef=sr_1_16?
Image
User avatar
POOPIESkillz
8-bit
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:33 pm
Location: Miami, Florida, USA

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by POOPIESkillz Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:37 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:For the Wii, since you're using component cables, do you have the output set to 480p? As for the PS2, you can force progressive scan output using software called GS Mode Selector (which I believe is an option included in Open PS2 Loader now).

A cheap component to HDMI adapter might also solve your problems. For example: https://www.amazon.com/Portta-N3CVRHP-C ... ef=sr_1_16?


Yes its set to the 480p HDTV option. It seems like a TV issue for both consoles. I've played around with the settings but it doesnt seem to help. The picture displaying actual 16:9 and actually filling the screen is the main problem.
I didn't know what to put for my signature, so I got you this box.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12323
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by Ziggy587 Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:21 pm

POOPIESkillz wrote:The picture displaying actual 16:9 and actually filling the screen is the main problem.


Ah, sorry, I guess I glossed over that point. Yeah, it sounds like the TV is to blame. Is there no way to manual select an aspect ratio setting on the TV though? Most TVs have this, but I have come across a few that didn't.

Try setting the PS2 to 4:3 again and see what happens. If you have the output of the console set to 4:3 it should display 4:3 games correctly. For any games that have a widescreen option, if the TV is stretching 4:3 to fill the screen then widescreen games might be displayed correctly in this case.

Are the consoles running through anything? Or are they being plugged in directly to the TV?
Image
User avatar
POOPIESkillz
8-bit
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:33 pm
Location: Miami, Florida, USA

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by POOPIESkillz Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:22 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
POOPIESkillz wrote:The picture displaying actual 16:9 and actually filling the screen is the main problem.


Ah, sorry, I guess I glossed over that point. Yeah, it sounds like the TV is to blame. Is there no way to manual select an aspect ratio setting on the TV though? Most TVs have this, but I have come across a few that didn't.

Try setting the PS2 to 4:3 again and see what happens. If you have the output of the console set to 4:3 it should display 4:3 games correctly. For any games that have a widescreen option, if the TV is stretching 4:3 to fill the screen then widescreen games might be displayed correctly in this case.

Are the consoles running through anything? Or are they being plugged in directly to the TV?


(I want to solve this on a by system basis so once the PS2 is good to go, then I'll start on the Wii.)

So, I've tested my PS2 with Jak 2 which supports both 480p and 16:9. I've went into the PS2 settings (4:3, Full, 16:9), Jak 2's settings (4:3, 16:9, 480i, 480p), and my TV's settings (widescreen options, zoom levels, etc), and every combination of each and I can't figure it out. Even when the PS2 and Jak 2 are set to 16:9, my TV still says its displaying in 4:3. And when I force my TV into 16:9 with zoom options and other stuff that seems to artificially widen the image, not only does it not even fit the whole screen, but the borders on the sides leftover are uneven AND on top of it all, it still says it's displaying in 4:3.

The PS2 is plugged directly into the TV via component.
I didn't know what to put for my signature, so I got you this box.
User avatar
POOPIESkillz
8-bit
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:33 pm
Location: Miami, Florida, USA

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by POOPIESkillz Tue Jul 30, 2019 4:05 pm

Let me also add that a guy in this thread from Eurogamer seems to be getting pissed off at this issue, rightfully so. You can comb through it if you want to but I'm unsure how much of it relates to my situation considering that he's in PAL territory and is using SCART.

I'll save you the time and just post one of his replies here.

Righto, this is PISSING ME OFF.

Set up is a 28" widescreen. Xbox is RGB'ed into an RGB slot, the PS2 is scarted into the AV2 slot.

Fable, Halo 2 etc are FULL 16:9.

The PS2 is a mess.

Not only are there MASSIVE boarders at the top and the bottom of the screen (BG&E here) but the screen isn't even fucking centre... there's a big (OK, about 1.5cm) black strip on the right hand side, both on GB&E and Gradius.

What can I do to get round this?


I think my next step would be to unleash my OG Xbox and connect it to the same TV with component as a way to see if it truly is the TV or if the PS2 is just a pain in the ass. I know for a fact that the OG Xbox has no issue with widescreen, progressive scan, or anything.
I didn't know what to put for my signature, so I got you this box.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12323
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by Ziggy587 Tue Jul 30, 2019 5:35 pm

Well for what it's worth, I've used my PS2 on two different widescreen TVs with no issues. I don't have any issues with the system ratio settings, or in game settings.

Could you take your PS2 and cables to someone's house to test it out on another TV? That way you could determine if it's just your TV or if something else is going on.

PAL SCART has this funny thing going on with a pin that can control the aspect ratio based off the voltage, so who knows what's going on with that guy.
Image
User avatar
POOPIESkillz
8-bit
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:33 pm
Location: Miami, Florida, USA

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by POOPIESkillz Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:32 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:Well for what it's worth, I've used my PS2 on two different widescreen TVs with no issues. I don't have any issues with the system ratio settings, or in game settings.

Could you take your PS2 and cables to someone's house to test it out on another TV? That way you could determine if it's just your TV or if something else is going on.

PAL SCART has this funny thing going on with a pin that can control the aspect ratio based off the voltage, so who knows what's going on with that guy.


I might be able to try that. And I'm going to try the Xbox thing tonight before bed. I might just shoot a quick video with my phone just to show my tv settings and the issue. Maybe its something stupid that im missing.
I didn't know what to put for my signature, so I got you this box.
User avatar
POOPIESkillz
8-bit
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:33 pm
Location: Miami, Florida, USA

Re: PS2 and Wii Component Issues with Sony Bravia

by POOPIESkillz Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:25 am

Gonna have to put a hold on that test...TV literally just fell right off the wall...
I didn't know what to put for my signature, so I got you this box.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests