Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
isiolia
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5556
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 1:52 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Do you use the 5Ghz spectrum on your router?

by isiolia Mon Jul 01, 2019 9:01 am

RCBH928 wrote:Given how everything is internet connected now days, future homes need ethernet sockets in every room just like we have electric sockets. Then again, you never know what new technology will come out obsoleting your installed "IT infrastructure" .


I feel like we've passed that point - not that I'd mind having ethernet jacks in every room, but better wifi solutions (not necessarily just a single router) tend to be sufficient for most uses. Whereas if I was setting up a house in the early 2000s or so, working ethernet in would have been a much bigger deal. Mine is sort of mixed I guess, and I do have ethernet run for desktop machines.

Anyway, by "adapter" above I meant your wifi device in the laptop. Essentially, ensure that's working as it should. It'd suck to spend a lot of time messing with the router only to find that your computer was acting up the whole time.
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 9450
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Do you use the 5Ghz spectrum on your router?

by marurun Mon Jul 01, 2019 9:33 pm

Consider switching to a base / satellite (mesh) WiFi system. I use an Orbi system, where the base is where the Internet comes in and the satellite is within range of the base, but better positioned for broad coverage. The Orbi uses a dedicated backchannel, that no devices use, so the base and satellite are guaranteed to have full bandwidth between them, assuming no major physical interference. It has essentially fixed any wireless issues I had that didn’t come from individual devices or my broadband provider.
B/S/T thread
My Classic Games Collection
My Steam Profile
The PC Engine Software Bible Forum, with Shoutbox chat - the new Internet home for PC Engine fandom.
User avatar
SpaceBooger
Moderator
 
Posts: 4042
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:40 am
Location: The AK-Rowdy

Re: Do you use the 5Ghz spectrum on your router?

by SpaceBooger Mon Jul 01, 2019 9:58 pm

I have my 5g and 2.4g networks named the same work the same password this allows me devices to login to the stronger signal.
I don't know if this is the best idea or not, the internet seems split on the issue when googling shared network names, but it seems to work for my house.
BLOG | BST
Systems Owned: NES, Game Boy (Pocket & Advance SP) Genesis (SCD, 32X, Nomad), SNES,
Saturn, PS1, Dreamcast, XBox, PS2, Gamecube, Nintendo DS, Wii, PSP, PS3 and WiiU.
User avatar
RCBH928
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4725
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 6:40 am

Re: Do you use the 5Ghz spectrum on your router?

by RCBH928 Tue Jul 02, 2019 3:34 am

isiolia wrote:
I feel like we've passed that point - not that I'd mind having ethernet jacks in every room, but better wifi solutions (not necessarily just a single router) tend to be sufficient for most uses. Whereas if I was setting up a house in the early 2000s or so, working ethernet in would have been a much bigger deal. Mine is sort of mixed I guess, and I do have ethernet run for desktop machines.


Shouldn't we be doing the opposite and opting more for Ethernet now since speeds are increasing, downloads are bigger, and Wifi will not be able to handle it?

marurun wrote:Consider switching to a base / satellite (mesh) WiFi system. I use an Orbi system, where the base is where the Internet comes in and the satellite is within range of the base, but better positioned for broad coverage. The Orbi uses a dedicated backchannel, that no devices use, so the base and satellite are guaranteed to have full bandwidth between them, assuming no major physical interference. It has essentially fixed any wireless issues I had that didn’t come from individual devices or my broadband provider.


I have been thinking about the mesh network or using a network expander. I know the difference, but in reality which is the better performer? I heard the new Orbis tend to disconnect. Do you need to have them in parallel or can they be set on different floors in the house?
User avatar
isiolia
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5556
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 1:52 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Do you use the 5Ghz spectrum on your router?

by isiolia Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:34 am

RCBH928 wrote:Shouldn't we be doing the opposite and opting more for Ethernet now since speeds are increasing, downloads are bigger, and Wifi will not be able to handle it?


I think ethernet in key locations will still be good. I just mean the notion of a port in every room. Could still be nice, as an option, but realistically you'd want solid wifi as your first priority. Many of the devices people might want to connect won't have ethernet, or it'd be inconvenient to use it. In turn, if you get a solid wifi network in place, the performance should be good enough that very few devices really need a hard line. Wireless AC can handle more data throughput than most home internet connections can already.
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 9450
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Do you use the 5Ghz spectrum on your router?

by marurun Tue Jul 02, 2019 10:57 am

RCBH928 wrote:I have been thinking about the mesh network or using a network expander. I know the difference, but in reality which is the better performer? I heard the new Orbis tend to disconnect. Do you need to have them in parallel or can they be set on different floors in the house?


As long as you put the satellite where it gets a good signal from the base, it shouldn’t disconnect
B/S/T thread
My Classic Games Collection
My Steam Profile
The PC Engine Software Bible Forum, with Shoutbox chat - the new Internet home for PC Engine fandom.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest