Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
Exhuminator
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11573
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:24 am

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Exhuminator Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:32 am

flybarber11 wrote:I'm afraid I'm missing something very obvious, but I can't figure it out.

Exhuminator wrote:just select the ISO file itself in IMGBURN. Try burning the ISO by itself, slowly, and see what happens.
PLAY KING'S FIELD.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13096
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Ziggy587 Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:53 am

Exhuminator wrote:
flybarber11 wrote:I'm afraid I'm missing something very obvious, but I can't figure it out.

Exhuminator wrote:just select the ISO file itself in IMGBURN. Try burning the ISO by itself, slowly, and see what happens.


If you load the ISO, ImgBurn will yell at you that you didn't select the CUE and load the CUE anyway. Unlike ISO/MDS images for DVDs, where you can ignore the MDS, you can't ignore the CUE for an ISO image of a CD.

flybarber11 wrote:Thanks yeah I used your guide for BIN/CUE and it didn't seem to work.


I don't want to sound like a dick, I just don't feel like typing all the same stuff over and over. I suggest reading through the guide again because there's some tips in there that WILL help you with your problem.

Also, you said in your OP, " I have the .CUE, .BIN, and .ISO files all in the same place." You want to make sure you only have one image per directory. If you have .bins, .cues, and .isos all in the same folder, things could get messed up. You want your BIN/CUE in one folder, and that's it. You want your ISO/WAV/CUE image in a separate folder, again with nothing else in that folder.
Image

My Sale Thread - SNES and N64 added! I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
User avatar
CRTGAMER
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by CRTGAMER Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:07 am

Keep in mind a burned disc will make a disc reader laser eye work harder shortening its life. This in light of the fact the Saturn console will be harder to replaced as the years go by. A point to consider at least for original Saturn Games that can be found on the cheap.
Image
CRT vs LCD - Hardware Mods - HDAdvance - Custom Controllers - Game Storage - Wii Gamecube and other Guides:
CRTGAMER Guides in Board Guides Index: http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1109425#p1109425

Image
Image
User avatar
Exhuminator
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11573
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:24 am

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Exhuminator Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:46 am

Ziggy587 wrote:If you load the ISO, ImgBurn will yell at you that you didn't select the CUE and load the CUE anyway. Unlike ISO/MDS images for DVDs, where you can ignore the MDS, you can't ignore the CUE for an ISO image of a CD.

I'm afraid that's not actually true. I just tested it myself. Maybe it's true if IMGBURN detects a .cue in the same directory, but when one wasn't present, IMGBURN did not give me a hard time. (I used IMGBURN V2.5.8.0)

First I downloaded this Shining Force 3 package off TheIsoZone:

http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/oth ... 3patch-16/

I unzipped it, and went into disc 1's directory, and deleted the .bin and .cue file, leaving only the .iso file.

Then I selected the .iso file with IMGBURN:
Image

IMGBURN loaded the file just fine, and did not ask for a .cue file:
Image

Then I burned the .iso to a TY CDR:
Image

And the burn was successful:
Image

So again, I suggest:
Exhuminator wrote:If you're burning an ISO file, just select the ISO file itself in IMGBURN. Cue files are for mounting or burning BIN image formats. The ISO and the BIN are both the same thing, a disc image, just in different formats. Try burning the ISO by itself, slowly, and see what happens.
PLAY KING'S FIELD.
User avatar
Sarge
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7273
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Sarge Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:01 pm

CRTGAMER wrote:Keep in mind a burned disc will make a disc reader laser eye work harder shortening its life. This in light of the fact the Saturn console will be harder to replaced as the years go by. A point to consider at least for original Saturn Games that can be found on the cheap.

I don't think that's quite the case. If the laser doesn't have problems, then a read is a binary operation: it either does it successfully or it doesn't. If it doesn't, then it forces a re-read, which can absolutely shorten the life of the laser since it's having to try to snag the data again. But if you're using a good burn, then it's no different than using a pressed CD. This is really more an issue on the original PlayStation, where the laser is set up in such a way that it doesn't read burned media well at all. For the Saturn (and Sega CD), the lasers are much better, so using burned media should be just fine.

As regarding the ISO/BIN/CUE deal, you can certainly burn an ISO by itself, you just have to hope that there's no extra tracks embedded in there. The CUE sheet is there to give the proper track indices in the data.

Perhaps the issue is your rip from the original disc? Check to make sure the checksum lines up with what the patch is expecting, because that may be the source of your issues.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13096
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Ziggy587 Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:01 pm

Exhuminator wrote:I'm afraid that's not actually true.


Well of course if the CUE or MDS is missing or renamed, ImgBurn wont detect it. But I'm kind of confused why there is a BIN, CUE and ISO. That's how that image was packed? If so, I've never seen that before.

After you burned, did you test that disc in an emulator or on an actual Saturn to verify that the game boots?
Image

My Sale Thread - SNES and N64 added! I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
User avatar
Exhuminator
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11573
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:24 am

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Exhuminator Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:04 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:After you burned, did you test that disc in an emulator or on an actual Saturn to verify that the game boots?

Worked in SSF. I don't have a real modded Saturn unfortunately.
PLAY KING'S FIELD.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13096
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Ziggy587 Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:07 pm

Sarge wrote:As regarding the ISO/BIN/CUE deal, you can certainly burn an ISO by itself, you just have to hope that there's no extra tracks embedded in there. The CUE sheet is there to give the proper track indices in the data.


This is what's confusing me. Does Shining Force 3 not have any audio tracks? I was assuming it does, like most other CD games, in which case you would need the CUE for an ISO.

Sarge wrote:Perhaps the issue is your rip from the original disc? Check to make sure the checksum lines up with what the patch is expecting, because that may be the source of your issues.


AFAIK, that's not how the SF3 patch works. It's not a PPF or IPS, etc. There's an exe utility that will patch the game from a real disc. The only noteworthy thing is that, for scenario 1, you can't use the JPN disc (only EU or US).
Image

My Sale Thread - SNES and N64 added! I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 13096
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Ziggy587 Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:09 pm

Exhuminator wrote:
Ziggy587 wrote:After you burned, did you test that disc in an emulator or on an actual Saturn to verify that the game boots?

Worked in SSF. I don't have a real modded Saturn unfortunately.


I'm still kinda confused though, why do they give you an ISO in addition to the BIN/CUE format?
Image

My Sale Thread - SNES and N64 added! I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!

I want to buy Universal Game Cases, if you have any spares please PM me! I'm looking to only deal with members that have good BST feedback on this forum.
User avatar
Exhuminator
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11573
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:24 am

Re: Saturn Burning Help Needed

by Exhuminator Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:14 pm

Perhaps the ISO holds the data files and the BIN holds the audio files? It could be that. I'd just like to see the OP try burning just the ISO, just to see if it will even boot. I'm not saying that will totally fix his problems, not at all, just want him to do that as an experiment.
PLAY KING'S FIELD.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests