Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
Knuckles-chaotix
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:05 pm

Sega cd ISO's?????

by Knuckles-chaotix Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:43 pm

Ive read the faq on here for sega cd's using cdrwin but it only states on how to make bin/cue files..
I need to know how to create iso files..can anyone pls help?
Burn Bush.
CurulleanCat
32-bit
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:04 pm

by CurulleanCat Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:01 pm

Okay it sounds like a) your not converting the music files to proper format B) you need to re make teh cue sheet.

Show us teh cue sheet for a game you plan on burning.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9486
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:17 pm

Is there a particular reason what you want ISO files instead of BIN/CUE?
Knuckles-chaotix
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:05 pm

k

by Knuckles-chaotix Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:29 am

I was told i need to in order to change the region to be able to copy my games to use on a cdx console which for some reason has a jap bios.
Al my games are PAL.

Email as follows.

CD games only work in a single region. If Japanese CD
games are working in the unit then it probably has been modified in some
way. If you are willing to open up the case you can look for a relatively
large rectangular chip and see if there is a second chip stacked on top of
it. Also check for a chip with a small circular window or a label on it.
To use convscd you need to rip the disc to an ISO file first (look for a
Sega CD ripping guide, :shock: but don't follow any directions for BIN/CUE, :shock: you need
an ISO file). convscd is used from the command prompt (go to Start->Run and
type in cmd and hit enter to bring it up). I believe there are directions on
how to use the program packaged in the zip file.
Burn Bush.
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:04 am

Not that I know of... it should work in Bin/Cue format.

Anyways, most any CD burning tool will let you rip out to ISO files. For instance take Nero. Just go to copy and select the destination drive to be a disk image and then select the disk image type to be ISO and not nrg. It should work fine...

But like I said, Bin/Cue should work fine and is the format I always use.
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
Knuckles-chaotix
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:05 pm

by Knuckles-chaotix Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:09 am

lordofduct wrote:Not that I know of... it should work in Bin/Cue format.

Anyways, most any CD burning tool will let you rip out to ISO files. For instance take Nero. Just go to copy and select the destination drive to be a disk image and then select the disk image type to be ISO and not nrg. It should work fine...

But like I said, Bin/Cue should work fine and is the format I always use.

Thanks heaps mate!
How would i then put in the right region code?
Do i have to remove anything from the iso? etc?

thank you greatly!

Ok i went into nero selected copy..as for destination drive it only lets me select my cd drives..no image drive! ??

This is what i get when i put a mega cd game in my pc.

Abs.txt Files
Q1s4.Bin files ETC ETC

Ok i have gone thru the faq on here to create a bin and cue file.
Im testing it on nba jam.

I have nba.bin
and i have a nba.cue

What do i do now?
Burn Bush.
Knuckles-chaotix
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:05 pm

by Knuckles-chaotix Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:15 am


Umm thanks but im after info on sega cd not saturn..
Ive read thru those facts and i think if you dont have a degree in IT there too hard to understand!
Burn Bush.
User avatar
Mega-Dan
24-bit
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 9:45 pm

fan of iso+MP3

by Mega-Dan Fri Jun 16, 2006 10:13 pm

I am a big fan of ISO+MP3, so much smaller, and I can never get bin+cue to work. I usually just make mds or clonecd files if I care about perserving the game perfectly. On my setup however it doesnt make a bit of difference, I will never notice the difference between a ISO+mp3 and bin+cue on my saturn, except the ones that dont work.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9486
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:17 am

Knuckles-chaotix wrote:

Umm thanks but im after info on sega cd not saturn..
Ive read thru those facts and i think if you dont have a degree in IT there too hard to understand!


Guess I missed that :)
The CD formats are the same between the Sega CD and Saturn, so the burning and ripping would be the same
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests