Page 1 of 1

Primer for a n00b

Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 9:38 pm
by Redcom001
Yeah, just as the title says. I'm going to order a Sega Saturn soon, as I was considering modding it to play imports.But, after reading about the mod chip/swap trick.etc, I know none of the technical terms such as ISO, etc. When I eventually do buy the mod chip and install it (um i think it's a model 2, it has a large circular controller), how do I use the patcher to change the country code?Being as I know absolutely nothing about this particular field, I thought it'd be in my best interests to consult those who know the tricks of the trade. Anyone care to help me get started off? Oh, wait a moment, after I install the mod chip, I use the patcher program on a downloaded rom of the import in question and burn it onto a CD-R? Furthermore, I have absolutely no idea how the patcher works, after looking at the version explanation.

Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:31 pm
by fastbilly1
Your in luck, Racketboy just happens to have two guides that address your questions quite well:
Patcher: http://www.racketboy.com/retro/2005/05/ ... tcher.html
Hard Mod: http://www.racketboy.com/retro/2005/01/ ... ports.html

Granted a more complete set of guides is simply at:
http://www.racketboy.com/guides/saturn.htm

After that reading you should have a working knowledge of what you are looking for. Personally I use Nero for burning, satconv for patching, and Cassini to make new bins/cues - yes there are better ways but this way Ive backed up most of my collection with only a few hiccups.

Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:49 pm
by Redcom001
Thanks, grazie, and arigato ^_^.

Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:58 pm
by racketboy

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 7:53 am
by fastbilly1
But that is the obvious one - wheres the fun in that?

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:02 pm
by Redcom001
Ok, say if I downloaded a rom for an import, say, Radiant Silvergun, could I change the country code, burn it right to a CD-R and I'll be ready to go, or would I still need the chip?

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 5:02 pm
by racketboy
Redcom001 wrote:Ok, say if I downloaded a rom for an import, say, Radiant Silvergun, could I change the country code, burn it right to a CD-R and I'll be ready to go, or would I still need the chip?


Region patching only takes care of the region. If you want to play backups you either need a mod chip or use the swap trick.

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 5:22 pm
by Redcom001
Ah ok, I get it. Just because you changed the region doesn't mean you can use it straight up.Thanks!!Oh, and just for clarification purposes, is "backup" another way of saying "rom"?

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 5:49 pm
by racketboy
Redcom001 wrote:Ah ok, I get it. Just because you changed the region doesn't mean you can use it straight up.Thanks!!Oh, and just for clarification purposes, is "backup" another way of saying "rom"?


Essentially yes.
But techincally, a ROM is a file that is made from the contents of a cartridge-based games like the NES or Genesis.
An ISO or "CD Image" is a file made from the contents of a CD-based system.
A backup is when you burn an ISO to a disc.