Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
Redcom001
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:29 pm

Primer for a n00b

by Redcom001 Mon May 14, 2007 9:38 pm

Yeah, just as the title says. I'm going to order a Sega Saturn soon, as I was considering modding it to play imports.But, after reading about the mod chip/swap trick.etc, I know none of the technical terms such as ISO, etc. When I eventually do buy the mod chip and install it (um i think it's a model 2, it has a large circular controller), how do I use the patcher to change the country code?Being as I know absolutely nothing about this particular field, I thought it'd be in my best interests to consult those who know the tricks of the trade. Anyone care to help me get started off? Oh, wait a moment, after I install the mod chip, I use the patcher program on a downloaded rom of the import in question and burn it onto a CD-R? Furthermore, I have absolutely no idea how the patcher works, after looking at the version explanation.
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13745
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

by fastbilly1 Mon May 14, 2007 11:31 pm

Your in luck, Racketboy just happens to have two guides that address your questions quite well:
Patcher: http://www.racketboy.com/retro/2005/05/ ... tcher.html
Hard Mod: http://www.racketboy.com/retro/2005/01/ ... ports.html

Granted a more complete set of guides is simply at:
http://www.racketboy.com/guides/saturn.htm

After that reading you should have a working knowledge of what you are looking for. Personally I use Nero for burning, satconv for patching, and Cassini to make new bins/cues - yes there are better ways but this way Ive backed up most of my collection with only a few hiccups.
Redcom001
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:29 pm

by Redcom001 Mon May 14, 2007 11:49 pm

Thanks, grazie, and arigato ^_^.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9494
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Mon May 14, 2007 11:58 pm

User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13745
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

by fastbilly1 Tue May 15, 2007 7:53 am

But that is the obvious one - wheres the fun in that?
Redcom001
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:29 pm

by Redcom001 Tue May 15, 2007 4:02 pm

Ok, say if I downloaded a rom for an import, say, Radiant Silvergun, could I change the country code, burn it right to a CD-R and I'll be ready to go, or would I still need the chip?
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9494
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Tue May 15, 2007 5:02 pm

Redcom001 wrote:Ok, say if I downloaded a rom for an import, say, Radiant Silvergun, could I change the country code, burn it right to a CD-R and I'll be ready to go, or would I still need the chip?


Region patching only takes care of the region. If you want to play backups you either need a mod chip or use the swap trick.
Redcom001
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:29 pm

by Redcom001 Tue May 15, 2007 5:22 pm

Ah ok, I get it. Just because you changed the region doesn't mean you can use it straight up.Thanks!!Oh, and just for clarification purposes, is "backup" another way of saying "rom"?
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9494
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Tue May 15, 2007 5:49 pm

Redcom001 wrote:Ah ok, I get it. Just because you changed the region doesn't mean you can use it straight up.Thanks!!Oh, and just for clarification purposes, is "backup" another way of saying "rom"?


Essentially yes.
But techincally, a ROM is a file that is made from the contents of a cartridge-based games like the NES or Genesis.
An ISO or "CD Image" is a file made from the contents of a CD-based system.
A backup is when you burn an ISO to a disc.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests