Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
ccm
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:19 pm

iMac VGA / RGB Question...

by ccm Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:23 pm

hi im new to the forums not sure where to put this but anyway
anyone know where i can find rgb/vga on a imac slot loading g3 it has no mother board all thats left of it is the shell, screen and the board that goes to the screen
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9494
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: imac

by racketboy Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:32 pm

ccm wrote:hi im new to the forums not sure where to put this but anyway
anyone know where i can find rgb/vga on a imac slot loading g3 it has no mother board all thats left of it is the shell, screen and the board that goes to the screen


I don't think it will have video connections since the monitor is built in.
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:18 pm

Yeah the built in monitors utilize direct digital transfer over to the monitor.

As long as it has an LCD display (i.e. like the lap tops and the sort) you aint gonna get it with out spending hundreds of dollars on parts. (mainly a analog to digital converter)

Now if you happen to have one of the CRT monitors you can hack the machine up to make it accept VGA. All CRT monitors are inherrently analog and use the RGB signalling to display picture. When the computer digitally sends the information over to the monitor there is a device that turns the digital signal into the RGB component.

What you'll have to do is locate said device, figure out what pins are the ouputs of the RGB colour and sync signals, then rip off the device. Next you will have to find out what frequency ranges it supports and mostl likely hook up an analog receiver in the bastard to clean up the VGA signal you send to it (unless you decide to send pure RGB which could be hooked directly to these lines as long as it is in the correct frequency range).

And well... all in all... it is a waste of time, difficult to perform... and most of all DANGEROUS.

I do not advise pulling apart a monitor and fucking around with its guts unless you know what everything is and what it does. A mistake and the bitch could electricute you or worse the CRT could explode.
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
User avatar
metaleggman
128-bit
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:21 pm

by metaleggman Thu Apr 05, 2007 1:38 am

lordofduct wrote:I do not advise pulling apart a monitor and fucking around with its guts unless you know what everything is and what it does. A mistake and the bitch could electricute you or worse the CRT could explode.
OR IMPLODE! :shock:
Image
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:32 am

implode, explode, relatively what is the difference?
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
Jubal
64-bit
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:42 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

by Jubal Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:49 pm

lordofduct wrote:implode, explode, relatively what is the difference?


the presence of a vacuum, implode

but for practical purposes, not a damn thing hehe =P

-Jubal-
User avatar
lordofduct
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2907
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: West Palm Beach

by lordofduct Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:52 pm

it was sarcasm...
www.lordofduct.com - check out my blog

Space Puppy Studios - games for gamers by gamers
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests