SMS, Genesis, 32X, Sega CD, Saturn, Dreamcast
User avatar
abeisgreat
128-bit
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Wisconsin

by abeisgreat Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:11 pm

racketboy wrote:
abeisgreat wrote:
xdanxx wrote:Hi guys I was just wondering if you hook a vga box straght from your dreamcast to your monitor, how do you guys get any sound? Thanks..


The VGA box has a female audio jack and so should your moniter just use a male to male audio cable to get sound


or use PC speakers/headphones


ya that would work to
Beep beep Beep
User avatar
prophet138
16-bit
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:19 am

by prophet138 Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:03 am

I saw the list that racket has up, which says a few games have to be patched to work, how would i go about doing that?
dougzer0
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:58 pm

dreamcast vga adapter not working

by dougzer0 Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:05 pm

Hi,

Sorry if this info is in a FAQ somewhere but I hooked up the adapter to 2 different monitors. One monitor says unsupported signal the other says Analog input sleep mode press key or move mouse. I cannot get a picture. Do I have to config the dreamcast first to output a different signal or something before changing to VGA?

Doug
D_H
8-bit
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:04 am

by D_H Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:50 pm

I just got my VGA box set up from Racketboy, and have been playing Soul Calibur, must say its much better now :D very impressed by the quality ( I am using a 32" HD LCD TV)


Now my question is, I have a few games that require the Utopia Boot disc to work, however when I use Utopia over VGA it say it is not compatible with the cable plugged into my Dreamcast.

Is there a boot disc that is compatible with VGA.

Or can I load the Utopia disc using the normal output, then switch it over to VGA (Using switch on VGA box) when it has started to boot my game, to run it in VGA mode again. I have not tried this as I am unsure if it will damage either my dreamcast. VGA box or TV.

Any ideas?
User avatar
vlame
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4193
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Long Beach

by vlame Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:53 pm

what games aren't self booting? there's only a handful that aren't or aren't possible to make so. names?
Image
Image
Image
^^ My Available List ^^
My B/S/T list
I also rent and sell PS2, Wii and XBOX softmod-kits and I collect DVD movies let me know what you have.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9364
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:09 pm

Most likely, you can find a self-booting copy somewhere.
There are very few games out there that still can't boot... D2 is the only one that comes to mind...

D_H wrote:Or can I load the Utopia disc using the normal output, then switch it over to VGA (Using switch on VGA box) when it has started to boot my game, to run it in VGA mode again. I have not tried this as I am unsure if it will damage either my dreamcast. VGA box or TV.

Any ideas?


Never tried it with a normal VGA cable, but I know in order to swtich between TV mode and VGA mode on the full box, you have to turn the Dreamcast off completely for it to register.
D_H
8-bit
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:04 am

by D_H Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:20 pm

Off the top of my head, I cant remember which ones are not self boot, I know I have one or two, when I come across them, ill just search for a self boot version or play in normal display.

Not a real hassle at the end of the day. Thanks for the fast replies though.
User avatar
vlame
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4193
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Long Beach

by vlame Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:25 pm

D_H wrote:Off the top of my head, I cant remember which ones are not self boot, I know I have one or two, when I come across them, ill just search for a self boot version or play in normal display.

Not a real hassle at the end of the day. Thanks for the fast replies though.
google:
get blaze boot disk it will do vga
Image
Image
Image
^^ My Available List ^^
My B/S/T list
I also rent and sell PS2, Wii and XBOX softmod-kits and I collect DVD movies let me know what you have.
D_H
8-bit
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:04 am

by D_H Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:32 pm

Blaze boot disk, will look into that.

Been on goole myself and come across a program called bin2boot that is supposedly meant to make not bootable images bootable, may have to play around with that. Anyone played with it
User avatar
vlame
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4193
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Long Beach

by vlame Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:36 pm

D_H wrote:Blaze boot disk, will look into that.

Been on goole myself and come across a program called bin2boot that is supposedly meant to make not bootable images bootable, may have to play around with that. Anyone played with it
i've tried but i don't remember my results. either it worked or i found a self booter. but if you do try it, try the iso in chancast 1st, if it self boots there, IT SHOULD selfboot in a real dc.
Image
Image
Image
^^ My Available List ^^
My B/S/T list
I also rent and sell PS2, Wii and XBOX softmod-kits and I collect DVD movies let me know what you have.
Return to Sega

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests