Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
BitFaced
64-bit
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:35 pm

Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosity

by BitFaced Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:56 am

I've been annoyed at the Wii's PAL Virtual Console and how it was limited to 480i/576i at 50HZ for a while, and when you do press the button combination to set it to 480p it doesn't work. However, I've heard that if you set it to 480i (which for me is 480i (60HZ) or 576i (50HZ)) and press A+1+Z in the Operations Guide, it will change to 240p mode. This could of only been for an American Wii but I tried it anyway. So I changed it to 480i/576i and inputted the code and to my surprise, although it still may of technically been 480i/576i and at 50HZ I was surprised to know that now the image had gotten smaller and/or placed at the bottom with a big black space above and now had scanlines, making the image better. Also, they stayed when I switched back to the 480p mode and switching with the input combinations only (assumedly) switched it between normal and with scanlines. Some games (like Super Mario World and all of the N64 games) didn't support scanlines.
So, I ask:

1. Are the Virtual Console games actually 240p and upscaled to 480i/576i by the TV?
2. Would N64 games look worse than they do in 480i/576i in 480p mode interlaced?
3. Can I activate scanlines for unsupported games?
N64/NES/FC/SNES/SFC/GB (SGB)/GBC (Black)(SGB)/FDS/Satellaview/Genesis/Mega Drive/Master System & maybe N64DD/GBC/GBA.
User avatar
theclaw
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by theclaw Fri Sep 06, 2013 6:23 pm

With a component cable and the Wii set 480p...

50hz games default 288p. The code turns them 576i.
60hz games default 480p (except NTSC Neo Geo, who uses the code to switch 240p/480i)

480p at 50hz is a non-standard video format. No game uses that.
Scanlines you should only see on CRTs. Wii doesn't have such filter or overlay settings.
Lum fan.
BitFaced
64-bit
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by BitFaced Fri Sep 06, 2013 8:57 pm

theclaw wrote:With a component cable and the Wii set 480p...

50hz games default 288p. The code turns them 576i.
60hz games default 480p (except NTSC Neo Geo, who uses the code to switch 240p/480i)

480p at 50hz is a non-standard video format. No game uses that.
Scanlines you should only see on CRTs. Wii doesn't have such filter or overlay settings.

So I've turned off 288p mode?
And I was using it on a HD TV and got scanlines, so I don't know what to tell you.
N64/NES/FC/SNES/SFC/GB (SGB)/GBC (Black)(SGB)/FDS/Satellaview/Genesis/Mega Drive/Master System & maybe N64DD/GBC/GBA.
User avatar
theclaw
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by theclaw Fri Sep 06, 2013 10:17 pm

Sounds like the TV scaler isn't very good.
Lum fan.
BitFaced
64-bit
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by BitFaced Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:53 am

theclaw wrote:Sounds like the TV scaler isn't very good.

So... The HD TV added scanlines.
N64/NES/FC/SNES/SFC/GB (SGB)/GBC (Black)(SGB)/FDS/Satellaview/Genesis/Mega Drive/Master System & maybe N64DD/GBC/GBA.
User avatar
theclaw
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by theclaw Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:35 am

Yeah LCD or plasma have fixed native resolution.
Natural scanlines are a by product of how CRTs work.
Lum fan.
BitFaced
64-bit
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by BitFaced Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:13 pm

So will it happen on another HD TV without a SLG HD
N64/NES/FC/SNES/SFC/GB (SGB)/GBC (Black)(SGB)/FDS/Satellaview/Genesis/Mega Drive/Master System & maybe N64DD/GBC/GBA.
User avatar
theclaw
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by theclaw Sat Sep 07, 2013 3:35 pm

No. At least I'm not aware of any HD TV who supports adding scanlines.

SLG HD is an external device to do so.
Lum fan.
BitFaced
64-bit
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by BitFaced Sat Sep 07, 2013 6:42 pm

So I tried it on another TV and it wasn't supported. I assume since I turned on interlaced for that HD TV (A+2+Z) for the Virtual Console games to work, this whole thing was in fact the de-interlaced mode (though it still says 576i on the first HD TV I tried but whatever).
So, to recap...
PAL Virtual Console games usually output deinterlaced mode, and you can switch between modes with A+2+Z to go to interlaced mode and A+1+Z to go back to deinterlaced mode. And I've been told that PAL VC games output 576i and 288p (in 50HZ) and that deinterlaced mode may be 288p and interlaced mode may be 576i. I'm a bit confused on PAL Neo Geo, though.
The two HD TVs I tried act differently to the deinterlaced mode. The white Technika HD TV I use just doesn't support it like other modern HD TVs, and the black (I forgot the brand name) HD TV outputs it as 576i (not sure about Neo Geo) and gives it scanlines, which is weird, but I think it's the result of a bad TV scaler and fixed resolution, as the Wii itself doesn't do that.
Also, when the home screen menus are brought up remnants of it stay burned onto the image of the virtual console game and I don't know how to rid of them without resetting (which still doesn't always work). Also the image upclose can be kind of noisy and have moving lines, but that could just be the cable (although the issues are lesser outside of the VC games).
Correct?
User avatar
theclaw
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Wii PAL Virtual Console 240p (?) A+1+Z Scanline Curiosit

by theclaw Sat Sep 07, 2013 7:02 pm

Yeah many HD sets improperly accept, or even refuse, below 480i from component.
You're lucky to get more than a "signal not found" error.

Try out a 60hz only game like Super Mario Bros The Lost Levels.
It should upscale to 480p progressive as NTSC does.
Lum fan.
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests