All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 8:35 pm 
Offline
Next-Gen
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4909
Location: Redmond, WA
I have an Official Sony PS2 40gb HDD. I just tried connecting it to my PC via a IDE-to-USB adapter. In WinHiip, the first time I connected the drive, it worked just fine. There was data still on the drive, so I formatted it in the program using the standard settings. However, every time I tried to connect it after that, either WinHiip wouldn't recognize the drive, or it said it couldn't be read. I tried re-formatting the drive with the PS2 HDD utility disk, but WinHiip still doesn't recognize it. What should I do?

Here is the error log:
Quote:
SELECTED Drive 1 : (Unknown Size) [REDUCE FRAGMENTS]
SCAN DRIVE ERROR There is a problem with reading the hard drive.


WinHiip only shows the PS2 hard drive if it is being run as the administrator. Otherwise, it says "There are no PS2-formatted drives on your system." When run in admin mode, it says "(Unknown Size)" next to the HDD listing, and when I select the hard drive, it says "There is a problem reading the Hard Drive". It fails at reading sector $00000000. I am using WinHiip 1.7.6.

_________________
Image
~My name's Vicky, by the way!~ ^_^


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 12:20 am 
Offline
128-bit
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 972
Location: Alabama
Try connecting it directly via IDE.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 4:56 am 
Offline
Next-Gen
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4909
Location: Redmond, WA
The only computers I have are a laptop and a SATA desktop. Any other ideas?

_________________
Image
~My name's Vicky, by the way!~ ^_^


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 8:00 am 
Offline
32-bit
 Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 204
Location: dirty jersey
use the ps2 ftp and don't use winhiip


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 8:47 am 
Offline
Next-Gen
 Profile

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 7:33 pm
Posts: 4030
You want to use the hdld_svr on the ps2, and hdl_dump/dumb on your pc to transfer over the network. Here's a howto.

_________________
We are prepared to live in the plain and die in the plain!


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 10:55 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:01 pm
Posts: 14837
Location: Shoreline, WA
lisalover1 wrote:
The only computers I have are a laptop and a SATA desktop. Any other ideas?

Disconnect your optical drive on the desktop and hook up the HDD to the now-free IDE cable.

_________________
Image
ZeroAX wrote:
You can't like TF2 and not like Nerf Now.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 1:20 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:34 pm
Posts: 7752
Location: UK
MrPopo wrote:
lisalover1 wrote:
The only computers I have are a laptop and a SATA desktop. Any other ideas?

Disconnect your optical drive on the desktop and hook up the HDD to the now-free IDE cable.


What if his optical drive is SATA?

I find it hard to believe your system has no IDE ports though. My Asus P5Q Deluxe that was purchased less than 6 months ago still has an IDE port on it. Granted it's only one, but it's still got one. Have you checked your motherboard's spec's?

If all else fails try a PATA-SATA converter.

_________________
Image
Please search the forum before creating a new thread.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 1:44 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:01 pm
Posts: 14837
Location: Shoreline, WA
Niode wrote:
MrPopo wrote:
lisalover1 wrote:
The only computers I have are a laptop and a SATA desktop. Any other ideas?

Disconnect your optical drive on the desktop and hook up the HDD to the now-free IDE cable.


What if his optical drive is SATA?

I find it hard to believe your system has no IDE ports though. My Asus P5Q Deluxe that was purchased less than 6 months ago still has an IDE port on it. Granted it's only one, but it's still got one. Have you checked your motherboard's spec's?

If all else fails try a PATA-SATA converter.

I figured his system was like my system and your system, where they keep one IDE port that people run their optical drives on.

_________________
Image
ZeroAX wrote:
You can't like TF2 and not like Nerf Now.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 2:49 pm 
Offline
Next-Gen
User avatar
 WWW  ICQ  YIM  Profile

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4909
Location: Redmond, WA
Okay, I have two problems.
1. When I tried HDL_Dumb/Dump, it wouldn't recognize the PS2 hard drive, either.
2. I don't want to go through the trouble of leaving my Desktop open just so I can transfer games to it. Plus, it's not really my Desktop; It's my Mom's, and she freaks out whenever I mention opening a computer.

Also, I tried using the HDLoader feature that lets you copy disks to the Hard Drive on the PS2, but when I tried to copy my backup disks, it said it was invalid. Is there any way besides a modchip to make it copy backup disks?

As a last question, what program do I need on my PS2 to accept the HDL_Dumb FTP transfer?

_________________
Image
~My name's Vicky, by the way!~ ^_^


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: PS2 Problem: WinHiip not Recognizing HDD
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 4:29 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:34 pm
Posts: 7752
Location: UK
Have you got any jumpers set on the hard drive? (it looks like 8 pins between the IDE connector and the Molex power connector). AFAIK you have to have no jumpers set for it to be recognised by HDloader.


O/T I haven't used a PATA optical drive for several years, not when you can get SATA ones for less than £14.

_________________
Image
Please search the forum before creating a new thread.


Top
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: