Good AND easy beat'em ups

Brawlers and Beatemups
Erik_Twice
Next-Gen

Good AND easy beat'em ups

Post by Erik_Twice »

I'm not good at beat'em ups or any other game that requires understanding movesets and patterns so I decided playing one easier than the usual would be a nice idea. There's a problem with this, however, and that's that all the "good" beat'em ups I know other than Streets of Rage are fairly difficult.

So which games do you think are easy enough for a newbie but still interesting?
Looking for a cool game? Find it in my blog!
Latest post: Often, games must be difficult
http://eriktwice.com/
BoneSnapDeez
Next-Gen

Re: Good AND easy beat'em ups

Post by BoneSnapDeez »

Golden Axe III is great and pretty easy. The enemy AI is quite dumb, and they don't charge at you like they do in the first two games.

Nearly every enemy can be taken out by jumping and then slashing. You don't have to worry about combos or anything. You can find the game on the Sega Mega Drive Ultimate Collection.

Code of Princess for the 3DS is another great beat 'em up. There are RPG elements, experience points, and you can repeat levels. Thus it's possible to level-grind your way out of a tricky situation.
bryan_65
Next-Gen

Post by bryan_65 »

BoneSnapDeez wrote:Code of Princess for the 3DS is another great beat 'em up. There are RPG elements, experience points, and you can repeat levels. Thus it's possible to level-grind your way out of a tricky situation.

Man that is next on my list of 3DS games to get. I really want to try that one.

As far as other beat 'em up I suggest the TMNT games on NES, SNES, Genesis and have read good things on the GC and PS2 ones too. I like the 16 bit Spiderman ones also oh man I could go on and on. I just love my beat 'em ups.
Last edited by bryan_65 on Sun May 04, 2014 4:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gunstar Green
Next-Gen

Post by Gunstar Green »