Neo-Geo, Arcade, Portable, & Every Other Platform
User avatar
Hobie-wan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:28 pm
Location: Under a pile of retro stuff in H-town

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help? [PIC OF BOARD AD

by Hobie-wan Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:21 pm

I'd think that there's maybe a pin that the 2600 cart's don't use that the 7800 ones do, so getting a signal on that line lets the system know to run in that mode. SInce you've cleaned the pins, check continuity on pins from the plug side to the solders on the board perhaps? Maybe find a schematic that talks about the selection pin or method?
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help? [PIC OF BOARD AD

by Jagosaurus Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:58 pm

Hobie-wan wrote:I'd think that there's maybe a pin that the 2600 cart's don't use that the 7800 ones do, so getting a signal on that line lets the system know to run in that mode. SInce you've cleaned the pins, check continuity on pins from the plug side to the solders on the board perhaps? Maybe find a schematic that talks about the selection pin or method?


That's a good point. I was thinking more of a chip set required. Pins look okay to my eyes at first glance but I'll dig for some diagrams.
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
ExedExes
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7334
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:56 pm
Location: HI-POINT AREA

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help? [PIC OF BOARD AD

by ExedExes Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:16 am

As an aside, thanks for not giving up on this. It was neat to see the 7800 board and the chips there. I want to see this fixed as much as you!
Image
Xeogred wrote:The obvious answer is that it's time for the Dreamcast 2.
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help? [PIC OF BOARD AD

by Jagosaurus Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:41 pm

ExedExes wrote:As an aside, thanks for not giving up on this. It was neat to see the 7800 board and the chips there. I want to see this fixed as much as you!


I enjoy breaking down systems so I'm enjoying it. I received this as a gift so all is well if it'll only play 2600... I'll just buy 2600 games that fit the slot (not all do like Tiger vision carts) & enjoy those! The 7800 library is interesting to me though so I'd like to fix it.

I'm going to look into pins/connection to board as Hobie suggested, as well as the Maria chip (which the 7800 titles use) per the guys @ Atari Age.

Man, the RF shield was a hooker to get off. Took me 15 minutes :D
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help?

by Jagosaurus Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:32 am

Okay, broke this out again today and upon close inspection...

The board has three marker strikes on it (two black, one yellow) & the area housing the RF hook up has the same marker "loop" that was on the RF shielding.

The guys over at Atari Age hadn't seen the first marking I noticed before (on RF shield) so my guess now is that it was broken and repaired by Atari or a hardware shop at some point in it's life, long ago.

Thoughts? I can take picks if you want to see more marker :] original marker I noticed:

Image

Any1 know which chip is Maria? All the chips look fine to the naked eye.
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
ApolloBoy
128-bit
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:56 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help?

by ApolloBoy Mon Mar 24, 2014 4:10 pm

Jagosaurus wrote:Any1 know which chip is Maria?

It's the longest chip on the board, located on the left-hand side.
Own: 2600, 2DS, 2DS XL, 360 S, 5200, 7800, 800, 800XL, AES, Amiga 600, C64, C64C, CV, DC, Duo-R, GB, GBA, GBA SP, GBC, GBP, Genesis 2, GG, JP SMS, Lynx, Mark III, Mega CD II, MD, MSX2+, N64, NES, NES top loader, Nomad, PCE, PSX, PS2, RetroUSB AVS, SAT, SFC, SG-1000 II, SMS, SNES mini, Switch, TE, Twin Fami, VIC-20, Wii, XEGS
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help?

by Jagosaurus Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:35 pm

ApolloBoy wrote:
Jagosaurus wrote:Any1 know which chip is Maria?

It's the longest chip on the board, located on the left-hand side.


I'll take the shell off & give Maria a closer look this weekend.

Wait.....
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help? [PIC OF BOARD AD

by Jagosaurus Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:06 pm

Mark on the RF housing I mentioned:
Image

Marks on the board:
Image

Think I can say it was worked on in the past.

And here sits the issue I believe. Some of Maria's connections don't look attached to the board. See upper left:
Image

Thoughts? :?:
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
Hobie-wan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:28 pm
Location: Under a pile of retro stuff in H-town

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help? [PIC OF BOARD AD

by Hobie-wan Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:49 pm

What about the solder on the bottom of those pins?
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Atari 7800 Plays 2600, Not 7800 - Help? [PIC OF BOARD AD

by Jagosaurus Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:42 pm

Hobie-wan wrote:What about the solder on the bottom of those pins?


Yeah that's what I was seeing also. Might be worth borrowing an iron from someone @ work or finally buying one.

Guys on Atari Age also pointed out the same. We likely found our issue! Step one of the problem lol.
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
Return to Other Platforms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests