Discussion of game backup, reproduction, burning, and ripping. Covers ROM backup, cartridge reproduction, optical disc ripping, burning, and storage. Focus on archival purposes and not deceptive selling.
User avatar
SaturnHST
24-bit
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:40 pm
Location: USA

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by SaturnHST Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:48 pm

If the cart slot doesn't detect the cart, pushing the cart all the way in then pulling it out slightly (a few centimeters) always works for me.
User avatar
stickem
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:57 pm
Location: nashville,tn.

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by stickem Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:19 pm

SaturnHST wrote:If the cart slot doesn't detect the cart, pushing the cart all the way in then pulling it out slightly (a few centimeters) always works for me.


that didn't work for me with a corrupted memory card plus. wouldn't detect it at all or with the flashing disc. put into another saturn and was able to flash it where the first saturn could read it and boot burns. that slot can be a bitch.
omikay
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:51 am

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by omikay Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:01 am

Hey all. I have been following this for a little bit now. I have a modded saturn that I am setting up to give away as a gift. I bought another one locally. I used the modded saturn to flash the AR cart i had. This worked, on the modded saturn. Worked great, no issues very easy. The problem is that it just does not work at all in the un modded saturn. Things jam or it completely disregards that there is a cart in the system. The unmodded saturn recognizes the Gameshark that i have so i know its not the port. I tried to restore the AR cart but it says there is no rom to load.... do you know what i am missing on that front? My plan was to bring the AR cart back to normal and try the swap trick with the unmoved saturn.

Another note. the atlas disc does not load like a normal burned disc. it never gets past the load stage to look for the security ring in order to swap. Because of this I didnt even think it would work at all, however while in the AR menu(on the modded saturn) and loading game without cheat enabled it just loads the program no problem.

My thought was that since I have the unmodded saturn set up for the swap trick, if i could just get to the AR menu with a legit game i could just change out the disc before i start the game.

I would like to know what other people have done. I was really hoping that the flashed cart would just work in the unmodded saturn. I was very excited initially when the flashing worked so well on the modded saturn.

hope at least some of you could follow that mess i wrote.

thanks
User avatar
skate323k137
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Lansing, MI

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by skate323k137 Thu Jun 25, 2015 3:03 pm

Try thoroughly cleaning the cart and cart slot on the new system. The saturn cart slot is notoriously shitty. Also make sure the new system works fine with original games if you haven't done so already to rule that out.
Image
Need FreeMCboot? I'll install it on your PS2 Memory Card for free if you cover postage both ways.
Consoles: I have too much stuff
Arcade: No seriously, I have too much stuff. Someone grab a shovel and dig me out of my basement.
omikay
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:51 am

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by omikay Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:58 am

I meant to post back here. What I ended up doing was getting irritated and I jus kept trying it over and over. Reseating the cart like 50 times. It ended up working once and after that I have much better luck. It's not 100% but like 90%. I still can't reflash the cart I used. I think it was a mistake. It's a 13 in 1 34m cart with the switch. I can't even find them online. But oh well. It works.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12830
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Ziggy587 Fri Jun 26, 2015 1:07 pm

That almost certainly means the cart slot needed cleaning. Your reseating it 50 times causes it to be cleaned by friction, at least well enough for it to finally work. You should still clean the slot when you get a chance, and the cart too since the slot undoubtedly dirtied it. Just be careful when cleaning the slot, those things are super fragile (don't bend the pins out of whack).
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!
omikay
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:51 am

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by omikay Fri Jun 26, 2015 1:36 pm

I bought this saturn from a local shop that offers a warranty. I will take it to them first before i get into it. Might as well right? They also put stickers over the screw hols on the bottom of the saturn so you don't tamper with it lol.
On my modded saturn I cleaned that one all up and that must be why that one works better. Thanks for the help. I like this mod chip free option. Not having access to the cart port will probably get in the way with some games but for the most part its very nice.
sega dude
8-bit
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:24 pm

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by sega dude Fri Jun 26, 2015 6:28 pm

Bought a Memory Card Plus on ebay, the version I asked about in my previous post. Got it for $8.50, including shipping. Flashed it with the Atlus disc, and it works great! I can now use it to play all my backups on my US Model 2 Saturn. In fact, from now on, I'm no longer going to play my original discs, I'm just going to play my backups. Very happy with this. Sorry if this has been asked before, but can I also use this to play original imports as well, or does it have to be a CD-R?
My Systems: Sega Master System Model 1,Sega Genesis Model 1, Sega Genesis Model 2, Sega CD Model 2, Sega Saturn Model 2, Sega Dreamcast, Sega Pico, Game Boy Pocket, Game Boy Color, Game Boy Advance SP (x2), DS Lite, DSi, 2DS, 3DS (x2), Wii (White), PS2 Slim, PS3 Phat, PS3 Slim, Xbox 360 Phat, Xbox One, NES, SNES
omikay
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:51 am

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by omikay Fri Jun 26, 2015 10:31 pm

sega dude wrote:Bought a Memory Card Plus on ebay, the version I asked about in my previous post. Got it for $8.50, including shipping. Flashed it with the Atlus disc, and it works great! I can now use it to play all my backups on my US Model 2 Saturn. In fact, from now on, I'm no longer going to play my original discs, I'm just going to play my backups. Very happy with this. Sorry if this has been asked before, but can I also use this to play original imports as well, or does it have to be a CD-R?



I'm pretty sure it does not matter, one of the features of the atlas disc is that it unlocks the region. so i assume it would work. when you go into the menu it just looks for a saturn disc so a official one would work. If you are not looking to play your originals why does this mater? Use Toast or a similar program and just copy the imported disc. with the mod or a mod chip you can do a straight duplicate of a disc. you don't need to rip it and turn it into a rom.
User avatar
Anthony817
128-bit
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 2:25 am
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Anthony817 Sat Jun 27, 2015 6:05 pm

omikay wrote:one of the features of the atlas disc is that it unlocks the region


Nope, the cards hardware makes them built in region free. Most carts that do many features allow the booting of imports from any region. The Gameshark does this, the Action Replay does this and the Memory Card Plus from interact does as well as many other brands.

Atlas disc has nothing to do with region free. If it is a feature of the cart before flashing it will still have that feature due to the hardware on the cart.
Image
Return to Archiving & Repro - Game Media

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest