Discussion of game backup, reproduction, burning, and ripping. Covers ROM backup, cartridge reproduction, optical disc ripping, burning, and storage. Focus on archival purposes and not deceptive selling.
User avatar
aaron
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7129
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:10 pm
Location: Indianapolis

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by aaron Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:16 pm

if anyone here would be willing to flash my AR card, i'd be appreciative.

does this work with the InterAct Memory Card Plus?
Steam / PSN / Twitter: aaronjohnmiller
User avatar
r0bot j0nes
16-bit
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:32 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by r0bot j0nes Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:48 pm

Same here, would appreciate anyone flashing my ARP, especially if you're in NYC. I have a Model 2 Saturn so I'd rather not endure the hell of getting the swap trick to work.
User avatar
skate323k137
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Lansing, MI

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by skate323k137 Mon Feb 02, 2015 4:34 pm

I have a chipped saturn, and I'd probably be willing to do the installs for people, but I'd like to flash a cart of my own first before I offer to do it for other folks. I'd hate to brick a cart that isn't mine while just trying to help someone out.
Image
Need FreeMCboot? I'll install it on your PS2 Memory Card for free if you cover postage both ways.
Consoles: I have too much stuff
Arcade: No seriously, I have too much stuff. Someone grab a shovel and dig me out of my basement.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12200
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Ziggy587 Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:16 pm

I couldn't imagine how you'd be able to brick a cart. I mean, you could potentially brick one from a bad flash. But from my understanding, the software that you use to flash the carts is run from a CD-R. So even if you had a bad flash, like the power went out in the middle of writing the new firmware, then you should be able to just start the process over again and reflash it. So even if you brick, it's not permanent. Unless I'm missing something...
Image
User avatar
skate323k137
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Lansing, MI

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by skate323k137 Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:02 pm

That wouldn't be so bad then. I just tend to be careful with Saturn hardware since we all know how well it's designed (/sarcasm)
Image
Need FreeMCboot? I'll install it on your PS2 Memory Card for free if you cover postage both ways.
Consoles: I have too much stuff
Arcade: No seriously, I have too much stuff. Someone grab a shovel and dig me out of my basement.
User avatar
Mad_Hatter
128-bit
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:28 am

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Mad_Hatter Tue Feb 03, 2015 1:38 am

You think they will start selling AR Carts pre flashed?
Old Username: sp957

Systems: Genesis, Super Nintendo, Saturn, Dreamcast, Playstation 2, Xbox 360, and Windows PC
Handhelds: Gameboy Advance SP, Nintendo DSi, and New Nintendo 3DS

My Trade Thread
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3311
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Jagosaurus Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:58 am

Mad_Hatter wrote:You think they will start selling AR Carts pre flashed?


I'm thinking the same.

Also would be AWESOME to have them together. As already said, what size was the previous/intended firmware, what size is this new firmware, can they both fit, can they run simultaneously?

Obviously would take some work from the minds behind this & the possibly software savvy community members but would be a huge development.
User avatar
skate323k137
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Lansing, MI

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by skate323k137 Tue Feb 03, 2015 4:01 pm

I only have one question left... in some of the posts a disc patcher is mentioned. Do the iso's need to be patched before burning to work with this mod or am I misunderstanding something? Will my existing set of backups work with this as-is?
Image
Need FreeMCboot? I'll install it on your PS2 Memory Card for free if you cover postage both ways.
Consoles: I have too much stuff
Arcade: No seriously, I have too much stuff. Someone grab a shovel and dig me out of my basement.
User avatar
stickem
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:57 pm
Location: nashville,tn.

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by stickem Tue Feb 03, 2015 4:33 pm

skate323k137 wrote:I only have one question left... in some of the posts a disc patcher is mentioned. Do the iso's need to be patched before burning to work with this mod or am I misunderstanding something? Will my existing set of backups work with this as-is?



if i read through the thread right, that was with the older version of the hack, i think the updated one fixed that. could be wrong though, been a few weeks since i looked at all this.
User avatar
Niode
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7835
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Niode Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:56 am

Wouldn't it just be easier to burn a CDR and use the swap trick to flash this yourself? You don't need a chipped Saturn to perform this mod.
Marurun wrote:Don’t mind-shart your pants, guys
Return to Archiving & Repro - Game Media

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest