Discussion of game backup, reproduction, burning, and ripping. Covers ROM backup, cartridge reproduction, optical disc ripping, burning, and storage. Focus on archival purposes and not deceptive selling.
User avatar
Anthony817
128-bit
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 2:25 am
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Anthony817 Tue Nov 24, 2015 8:40 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
Anthony817 wrote:Vacuums and electronics do not go hand in hand. Sure fire way to get electrical static discharge to wreck the machine.

Instead use an industrial strength air compressor, and make sure you spray it a few times before using it on the machine to spray out any condensation first.


I was talking about this with (IIRC) Fast not too long ago. I regularly use an air compressor to blow out computer towers and such. We were talking about the amount of water that might be in it. I bleed my tank regularly, but I was thinking about adding a water trap. As for the PSI, you wanna make sure it isn't so high that it could blow off any fragile parts. This didn't even occur to me until someone mentioned it, I guess it's possible. Most home compressors are only something like 90 or 120 PSI. I know that commercial shops will have higher ones, but you should throttle it anyway. Dust is really light.

Personally, I wouldn't even bother with that for something like a Saturn. If there IS any dust build up, just use lung power.


I tend to typically blow out my custom built Gaming PC every few months or so to keep it clean and free of dust. I do hold any fans on the GPU and CPU with one finger while using the compressor to clean out dust build up on the metal fins of the heatsinks on both processors. You do NOT want them to spin up way too fast or get too much force on them from the compressor to keep them running well. That reminds me I really need to clean her out again, seems like it has been over 4 months since the last time. I built her 3 1/2 years ago in April of 2012, upgraded the GPU 3 times since then so it can still game on modern releases. Still going strong as the day I built it. :mrgreen:
Image
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12830
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Ziggy587 Wed Nov 25, 2015 6:33 pm

Anthony817 wrote:I tend to typically blow out my custom built Gaming PC every few months or so to keep it clean and free of dust. I do hold any fans on the GPU and CPU with one finger while using the compressor to clean out dust build up on the metal fins of the heatsinks on both processors. You do NOT want them to spin up way too fast or get too much force on them from the compressor to keep them running well. That reminds me I really need to clean her out again, seems like it has been over 4 months since the last time. I built her 3 1/2 years ago in April of 2012, upgraded the GPU 3 times since then so it can still game on modern releases. Still going strong as the day I built it. :mrgreen:


I'm not sure how often I clean my tower out, it's probably more like every 6 months. I tend not to do it until I see the vents covered in dust or the CPU fan constantly running faster. I hold the fans too, so they don't move. Some fans though, you can't. I have the Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, so I can't get to the fan (without taking it apart). Also, the fan in the PSU is unreachable. So I'll usually just blow short bursts which keeps the fans from spinning to fast, while still getting the job done.

I actually just dusted my PC out on Monday, but only because I was upgrading a couple things. I built mine in 2009, and I've upgraded the video card 0 times. :lol: I'm pretty sure I could run current games just fine if I updated the video card, but I'm not going to until I buy a game I can't run. I plan on using this PC until the motherboard dies.
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!
User avatar
Anthony817
128-bit
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 2:25 am
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Anthony817 Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:07 am

My CPU is a 2009 model also, but I got it brand new in 2012. AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 ghz Black Edition. At least it is a quad core, so in theory it should still be better than many of those dual core i3 processors, and I can run just about every game on it fine. I am starting to see it hit the ceiling now in some games, not a bunch but a few heavy ones. I have 8gb Gskill ram and an AMD R9 270X, which is = in performance to a GTX 760.

All in all, I would say it is one of the best older processors for the buck. Like seriously, this thing is almost 7 years old and I can still play all modern games! :lol:
Image
arcadifvid
32-bit
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:56 pm

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by arcadifvid Tue Jul 12, 2016 8:37 am

i might start trying out this AR flashing since my saturn has been sitting idly for too long now. i just have a concern, my saturn and AR are both japanese versions. i have some retail japanese games as well. based from all the videos ive watched, this seems to be intended for US Saturns? would the flasher disc actually boot with the swap method with japanese console, game? or do i need something else ? is there an easier swap method if you have an AR? TIA
User avatar
theclaw
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by theclaw Wed Jul 13, 2016 6:10 am

Has this hack been tested compatible with Japanese ARs? I haven't heard of much research on them.

For that matter I don't know if their firmware versions are dumped yet, or how well switching an AR between Japanese and non-Japanese firmware works (to change the menu interface language of course).
Lum fan.
User avatar
d123456
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1268
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands, Almere

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by d123456 Sat Jul 16, 2016 1:49 pm

It worked on my (US?) PAR on a Japanese Saturn.
Probably it will work, but good to do some digging before you brick it I guess.
Aren't these PAR's region free to begin with? Do you have Japanese text when you boot the PAR?
Optimizing PS2 games 480p (progressive) and 240p gsm hdtv
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=30389
User avatar
theclaw
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:46 pm

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by theclaw Sun Jul 17, 2016 6:25 am

I think so. Rare or unusual Saturn models not withstanding.
If you haven't seen what the translation looks like, no surprises here.
http://ayasuke.exblog.jp/iv/detail/?s=10336650&i=200902%2F11%2F22%2Fb0030122_2140221.jpg
Lum fan.
User avatar
stickem
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:57 pm
Location: nashville,tn.

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by stickem Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:10 pm

Been using the memory card plus the last year with 0.831. Since it didn't have the extra ram that the action replay has, plus it's real temperamental, I flashed action replay plus with the newest kai firmware. It plays the 1m required games but not the 4m, stuck at the need the ram cart screen. Not sure why the flash wouldn't retain 1 but not the other. Any ideas?
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3619
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Jagosaurus Sun Dec 18, 2016 1:44 am

stickem wrote:Been using the memory card plus the last year with 0.831. Since it didn't have the extra ram that the action replay has, plus it's real temperamental, I flashed action replay plus with the newest kai firmware. It plays the 1m required games but not the 4m, stuck at the need the ram cart screen. Not sure why the flash wouldn't retain 1 but not the other. Any ideas?


Will the 1M games run with no RAM expansion at all? My AR stays in so I haven't tried without.

I'm still anxiously awaiting this:
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=50516
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12830
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: Its now possible to play backups by flashing Saturn Cart

by Ziggy587 Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:46 am

Jagosaurus wrote:I'm still anxiously awaiting this:
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=50516


Same here. I have a model 1 Saturn with a busted CD drive that I'm hoping to use it with.
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!
Return to Archiving & Repro - Game Media

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests