Arcade machines -- original or homebrew. Keep emulation topics in the emulation category
User avatar
Anapan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:15 am
Location: BC, Canada

Re: Arcade1UP - Repro Arcade Cabs

by Anapan Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:32 am

If you have no skill whatsoever and you want a mame cab, you can mod this. Shortly the new images of retropie for the new Raspberry Pi model will be available. I think I already saw kits to do the conversion, and there's plenty of videos on youtube.
I don't know about installing a CRT, but I'm interested to see if the RGB-PI works on the new model straight out of the box.

For a bit more $ and no Raspberry PI you can also stick an old tower in and install lakka.
I hear they have some 240p support in the works too.

Since I'm making repro cabs from scratch with blueprints and customizing them to whichever CRT I'm building around it (super cheap), these don't interest me, but watching the videos I think anyone investing to upgrade without too much mess, space, woodworking tools, or skill will enjoy only a mild challenge.
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
samsonlonghair
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4943
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:11 pm
Location: Now: Newport News, VA. Formerly: Richmond. Before that: Near the WV/VA border

Re: Arcade1UP - Repro Arcade Cabs

by samsonlonghair Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:59 am

Image
That TMNT arcade cabinet gets me drooling. I have absolutely no room for this in my home, but I want one so badly! :mrgreen:
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 9275
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Arcade1UP - Repro Arcade Cabs

by marurun Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:24 pm

Same. Only problem is I'd have room for 4 players, but 3 of those spots would be eternally empty.
B/S/T thread
My Classic Games Collection
My Steam Profile
The PC Engine Software Bible Forum, with Shoutbox chat - the new Internet home for PC Engine fandom.
User avatar
samsonlonghair
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4943
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:11 pm
Location: Now: Newport News, VA. Formerly: Richmond. Before that: Near the WV/VA border

Re: Arcade1UP - Repro Arcade Cabs

by samsonlonghair Fri Jun 28, 2019 9:39 pm

marurun wrote:Same. Only problem is I'd have room for 4 players, but 3 of those spots would be eternally empty.

What!? Nah, I don’t believe that. You seem like a family man to me.
Return to Arcade

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests