If you're an indie dev or author of a game, book, film, or other production, this is where you can pitch it -- just don't be spammy!
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by fastbilly1 Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:54 am

Image

It is shipping!

I cant wait for the other controller dongles to go live. Until then, the N64 will be getting alot more love from me.
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by fastbilly1 Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:29 am

For anyone who has one, the production version has a firmware bug with N64 controllers. To get them to activate, you have to have another controller plugged in FIRST or be in single play mode. It is a weird bug that will be fixed soon, but atleast they figured out a workaround quickly.

There are many differences in this version from the one I got to play around with six months ago. The main two are that every port has a reset button and the dipswitches on the bottom to swap you to single play mode. But other than the N64 bug, it is pretty much the same amazing device. Once these final bugs get ironed out and the cables go on retail sale, it will be the best 3rd party device I have ever used - beating the Hori Minipad.

Anyone want to buy some random console to USB adaptors???
newoski
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:53 am

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by newoski Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:56 am

Hi Guys,

I'm hoping for some help setting up the BlissBox with RetroArch. I was able to create an AutoConfig for the BlissBox using my NES controllers, however, that only works with the NES controller. When I plug in an SNES controller, the AutoConfig for BlissBox obviously doesn't work. The only workaround I can think would be to create multiple AutoConfig folders and define the correct AutoConfig folder for each system config in RetroArch.

I'm hoping there is an easier way... Any help would be appreciated!
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by fastbilly1 Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:08 am

newoski,
When I set up retorarch I used a SNES controller as my default, anything with less buttons worked fine, anything with more did not. So I would suggest starting with a PSX or Gamecube controller and it should work with the others. If it does not, for whatever reason. Just spend the time one night doing all the configs.

Edit:
On second thought, if you ask on the Blissbox facebook group, someone might have the config files already made and you can just download them from them.
newoski
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:53 am

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by newoski Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:11 am

fastbilly1 wrote:newoski,
When I set up retorarch I used a SNES controller as my default, anything with less buttons worked fine, anything with more did not. So I would suggest starting with a PSX or Gamecube controller and it should work with the others. If it does not, for whatever reason. Just spend the time one night doing all the configs.

Edit:
On second thought, if you ask on the Blissbox facebook group, someone might have the config files already made and you can just download them from them.


Thanks, that's what I was thinking as well... Start with highest possible and work backwards. With that in mind, it's time to dig up my PSX controllers
newoski
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:53 am

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by newoski Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am

fastbilly1 wrote:newoski,
When I set up retorarch I used a SNES controller as my default, anything with less buttons worked fine, anything with more did not. So I would suggest starting with a PSX or Gamecube controller and it should work with the others. If it does not, for whatever reason. Just spend the time one night doing all the configs.

Edit:
On second thought, if you ask on the Blissbox facebook group, someone might have the config files already made and you can just download them from them.


Did you create an AutoConfig or map them one at a time for each core/system config?
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by fastbilly1 Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:44 am

I mapped the SNES controller individually. But that is just an old habit.

The 4play mounts as a HID device, and each controller is interchangeable, so you should not have to make each config individually.
newoski
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:53 am

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by newoski Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:46 am

fastbilly1 wrote:I mapped the SNES controller individually. But that is just an old habit.

The 4play mounts as a HID device, and each controller is interchangeable, so you should not have to make each config individually.


OK, great. Final question (I think)... Regarding Player 1, 2, 3, 4... are the controller ports laid out in any particular order? It seems like:

23
14

Is that right?
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by fastbilly1 Thu Oct 29, 2015 11:17 am

newoski wrote:OK, great. Final question (I think)... Regarding Player 1, 2, 3, 4... are the controller ports laid out in any particular order? It seems like:

23
14

Is that right?

Sadly that is buggered by Windows. I cant tell you which one is which because Windows puts them in a random order when you plug it in. There is a fanmade firmware update called 4playfix that will set them as 1,2,3,4, but I have not used it. ulao has mentioned that he is going to try and fix that in a future update, but it is not a high priority.
User avatar
Anapan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:15 am
Location: BC, Canada

Re: 4-play KS relaunch : Bliss-Box

by Anapan Fri Oct 30, 2015 5:28 am

I have a question; I recently received my 3rd later-production-run Innovation X-box Connection that is not compatible with a Namco NegCon; Despite the pictures showing the 1st production run. Can anyone try a NegCon with the Bliss-Box? I understand that even if it doesn't work now, it can with updated firmware. I've just really been itching to use my NegCon on a whole pile of games I recently bought, especially after having my adapter purchases denying me this ability.
Further info.
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
Return to Creator's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests