Best NFL game?

RTS, FPS, Sports, Adventure, etc.
Razzmatazz
64-bit

Best NFL game?

Post by Razzmatazz »

OK. So I am a complete noob with regards to American Football, I'm a Brit and I have had a vague interest in the sport for a while but have always shied away from the Madden series as I haven't seen any MUST HAVE reviews for it in recent years. Ideally I would purchase a Rugby game but they just don't seem to exist for some strange reason or are awful to play, whereas I know there are plenty of NFL games released over the years. I've done a little research and it seems the 2K series were the best, but I wanted an opinion from the forum as to what game is the best for someone learning the rules still.

Anyone who has played NFL Street also, as I thoroughly enjoy the NBA Street series whilst not having an interest in basketball!

Thanks.
Currently playing Splinter Cell: Blacklist

Check out my album reviews at the home of rap reviews, http://www.rapreviews.com (NEW SITE COMING 2015)
Breetai
Next-Gen

Re: Best NFL game?

Post by Breetai »

I like John Madden Football '93 on the Genesis/Mega Drive (also on SNES).
Joe Montana Sports Talk Football '93 on the Genesis is also fun.
RXRob
16-bit

Post by RXRob »

Hi I'm a fellow British NFL fan, although I'm well schooled in the rules of the game.

I can recommend the NFL Street series. I've played them all (1+2 on Gamecube, 3 on PS2). My favourite was the first, number 2 was more of the same with a couple of neat new features, number 3 never really grabbed my attention that well although that was possibly down to a lack of any worthwhile new features.

In terms of a straight NFL game, I'm afraid to say that I've never strayed far from the Madden series. Like a lot of sports game it can be very overwhelming for a new player (I'm looking at you Pro Evo)
Currently playing: Skies of Arcadia, Mass Effect 2, Backbreaker