Page 1 of 2

Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:15 pm
by dogman91
...seriously, is this what people put up with back in the day? :? It's impossible to time jumps, or time anything for that matter, because the slow down can occur at any time and ruin that precision. All other NES platformers I played never had this problem to such a frequent, frustrating degree.

I got the Rockman Complete Works on the Playstation and it's infinitely more playable as the game was reprogrammed for the platform; and there's barely any slowdown at all. Thank god for that.

Do the other Mega Man games get better in this regard?

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:24 pm
by Xeogred
Image

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:27 pm
by Gunstar Green
The only time I felt like slowdown in a Mega Man game was bad enough to screw me over was the later Game Boy titles.

Also Wily Wars for the Mega Drive was not terribly well programmed and can be a little unbearable at times.

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 10:14 pm
by Xeogred
The first game is admittedly a little rough and different, Megaman 2 was the main blueprint.

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:15 pm
by Ziggy587
Gunstar Green wrote:Also Wily Wars for the Mega Drive was not terribly well programmed and can be a little unbearable at times.


The huge problem with Wily Wars is the delay from when you hit left or right to when Mega Man actually starts moving.

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:29 pm
by dogman91
I just had a thought... what about overclocking your NES? I wonder if this would eliminate a lot of the slow down that's rampant in many NES titles.

On a side note, I have to say Konami games on the NES I played barely have any slow down; at least any that's readily apparent/noticeable. I hope not all Capcom games are this poorly optimized.

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:28 pm
by PresidentLeever
Just be glad that you didn't play the PAL ver. of MM3 (only VC option for us btw) :roll:

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:40 pm
by 8bit
If my memory serves me correctly some of the slowdown in MM1 seemed to come from the bullets being fired by Mega Man himself. With that in mind you can control some of the slowdown if you are a little bit more precise with your rate of fire and/or choosing to avoid enemies rather than trying to kill them.

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:32 pm
by MrPopo
dogman91 wrote:I just had a thought... what about overclocking your NES? I wonder if this would eliminate a lot of the slow down that's rampant in many NES titles.

On a side note, I have to say Konami games on the NES I played barely have any slow down; at least any that's readily apparent/noticeable. I hope not all Capcom games are this poorly optimized.

Collapsing bridge right before Death in CV3 says otherwise. That thing loves to eat inputs.

Re: Slow down in Mega Man on NES

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:25 pm
by Exhuminator
Sprite flicker always bothered me far more than slow down.