Anything that is gaming related that doesn't fit well anywhere else
SuperDerpBro
64-bit

Receipts cause water damage? And many other unrelated things

by SuperDerpBro Wed Mar 21, 2018 9:16 am

I have this one 360 game that i have never been able to figure out how it got water damaged. I bought it used but it was like new at the time and i never played it. Today it is water damaged in one spot on the front of the cover art. Top left. It is bulging out (pretty badly) and wavy in only that one spot. Yesterday i was going though all my 360 games and im not sure why but i looked under the cover. Guess what was there in the exact spot. A folded receipt. That got me thinking. My brother gave me a few games a while back and some of the manuals seem ever so slightly water damaged. Not the whole manual. Just part of it. Sure enough each and every one of them had the original receipt clipped in with the manual. I'm no scientist but i'm thinking the super duper cheap paper absorbs water out of the air much faster than higher quality glossy game art/manuals, and hold its there long enough to damage the higher quality glossy game art/manuals. :P
Last edited by SuperDerpBro on Tue Mar 27, 2018 4:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
But enough talk! Have at you!
Segata
Next-Gen

Re: Receipts cause water damage??

by Segata Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:01 am

Do you live in the rainforest? You seem to have a lot of trouble with game cases. Maybe don't store wet paper in game cases or put your games in a dry environment.
Dreamcast is love,Dreamcast is life!
Twitter Segata
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen

by Jagosaurus Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:13 am

That upper ring of forest actually puts off more O2 than the rainforest :). Planet Earth FTW.

I just checked a few of my receipts. No waves or damage. I live in the swamp of Houston so my AC is on 10 months of the year which pulls out humidity though. Not sure how often you are running AC or de-humidifiers in CA.
marurun

by marurun Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:42 am