Anything that is gaming related that doesn't fit well anywhere else
User avatar
einzelherz
8-bit
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 1:38 pm

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by einzelherz Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:56 am

64. There is no reason to run 32 any longer. Even if you have 2gb of memory (like I do) the OS runs slightly faster.
User avatar
D.D.D.
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3326
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:33 am
Location: of the Estrecho de Gibraltar is where now?

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by D.D.D. Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:24 am

If you need a fully localized version of Windows (like from English to another language) Ultimate is what you'll need.

AFAIK, the 32bit and 64bit versions are on the same disk.
 (FC, AVFC, NES, SFC x2, SNES, N64, GC x2, Wii x2)*(G&W x7, GB, GBpocket, GBASP, DS-L x2)
(GEN, SS x3, DC x3)*(PCE-Duo)*(Xbox:500GB)*(NGCDZ, NGPC)*(PS1, PStwo, PS3:160GB, PSP.3K)
User avatar
fvgazi
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:16 pm
Location: Long Island NY

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by fvgazi Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:35 am

Niode wrote:
fvgazi wrote:I have win 7 64bit pro. The only problem I ran into was zombie shooter 2 not working. Every other game and emulator I have work fine. Most games can run in xp compatibility or just need a few changes like being forced to run in directx9 (bioshock).


Odd. I have Windows 7 Pro 64bit and I can run Bioshock fine in DX10 mode on max settings at 1152p...

Probably the video card. I have a radeon 4850. I checked the steam forums and a bunch of people had the same problem as me.
[ XBL: downedcity | PSN: biggry | Steam: Merchandise ]
Black Lodge Amplification: http://blacklodgeamps.tumblr.com/
Image
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12813
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by Ziggy587 Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:07 pm

msimplay wrote:I deciding to actually update my PC from Windows XP to Windows 7 but which version of the OS to go with.
I know 64bit can cause problems with older apps but is it safe to step into the 64bit side now ?


Wait, hold the phone. You have a computer with XP on it, and you want to update it to 7? If that's the case, I would say leave it with XP.

But at any rate, definitely go with 7 64-bit. There's always virtual PC for any thing you can't use (which in my case was very rare). For the few that I can't get to work (HDL Dump) simply just don't work in 7 (32 or 64-bit). I run XP in a virtual box and they work fine.
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!
User avatar
Unleaded Logic
128-bit
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 9:26 am
Location: McHenry

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by Unleaded Logic Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:35 pm

I bought 3 PC's last year and decided to go with Windows 7 64 bit on them. Everyone I knew told me "Your going to be sorry dealing with all the driver and software issues!"

Its been almost a year now and I've only had one major issue and that was with a firewire card. (That I got on the cheap) Otherwise everything has been fantastic and it really seems to make a difference when you are steaming media from a computer to your Xbox 360/PS3.

Go for 64!
msimplay
64-bit
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:13 am

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by msimplay Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:39 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
msimplay wrote:I deciding to actually update my PC from Windows XP to Windows 7 but which version of the OS to go with.
I know 64bit can cause problems with older apps but is it safe to step into the 64bit side now ?


Wait, hold the phone. You have a computer with XP on it, and you want to update it to 7? If that's the case, I would say leave it with XP.

But at any rate, definitely go with 7 64-bit. There's always virtual PC for any thing you can't use (which in my case was very rare). For the few that I can't get to work (HDL Dump) simply just don't work in 7 (32 or 64-bit). I run XP in a virtual box and they work fine.


No my PC burst into flames on Friday I have access to the files but I'm getting a new computer it has no OS on it yet.
User avatar
fvgazi
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:16 pm
Location: Long Island NY

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by fvgazi Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:47 pm

Ziggy587 wrote:
msimplay wrote:I deciding to actually update my PC from Windows XP to Windows 7 but which version of the OS to go with.
I know 64bit can cause problems with older apps but is it safe to step into the 64bit side now ?


Wait, hold the phone. You have a computer with XP on it, and you want to update it to 7? If that's the case, I would say leave it with XP.

But at any rate, definitely go with 7 64-bit. There's always virtual PC for any thing you can't use (which in my case was very rare). For the few that I can't get to work (HDL Dump) simply just don't work in 7 (32 or 64-bit). I run XP in a virtual box and they work fine.


Use winhiip instead of hdl. Works like a charm on 7.

I think you'll be fine with the OS update. Def go 64. It's preparing for the future.
[ XBL: downedcity | PSN: biggry | Steam: Merchandise ]
Black Lodge Amplification: http://blacklodgeamps.tumblr.com/
Image
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12813
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: NY

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by Ziggy587 Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:12 pm

msimplay wrote:No my PC burst into flames on Friday I have access to the files but I'm getting a new computer it has no OS on it yet.


Ah, OK. Just wanted to make sure I read you correctly. Yeah, definitely go with 64-bit. As far as versions go, that's up to you. I think most people would be fine using Home Premium, though Pro has some benefits like Remote Desktop. Just to be clear, you can remote out on any version (maybe not Basic) but you can only remote IN to Pro and above. You'll also get XP Mode which is XP already installed in a virtual environment for you. It's great to have for those old programs that don't want to work on Vista/7.

I don't know if you know this already, just wanted to let you know if you don't. But you can get OEM versions of Windows "for system builders" for a lot cheaper than normal retail price (7 Pro is $140 on New Egg, Premium is $100).

fvgazi wrote:Use winhiip instead of hdl. Works like a charm on 7.


Oh really? I remember messing around with both, but wasn't able to get them to work. So I just settled using HDL Dump in a virtual XP. I'll have to try out WinHiip again though. Thanks for the tip!

edit: Wait, does WinHiip allow you to dump games to the hard drive over a network?
Image

My Sale Thread - I am selling around three quarters of my video game collection as well as some other odds and ends!
User avatar
Niode
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7835
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by Niode Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:21 pm

fvgazi wrote:
Niode wrote:
fvgazi wrote:I have win 7 64bit pro. The only problem I ran into was zombie shooter 2 not working. Every other game and emulator I have work fine. Most games can run in xp compatibility or just need a few changes like being forced to run in directx9 (bioshock).


Odd. I have Windows 7 Pro 64bit and I can run Bioshock fine in DX10 mode on max settings at 1152p...

Probably the video card. I have a radeon 4850. I checked the steam forums and a bunch of people had the same problem as me.


Radeon 4870 here. Interesting quirk... Surely there must be a driver fix by now...
Marurun wrote:Don’t mind-shart your pants, guys
User avatar
elmagicochrisg
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5048
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:18 pm
Location: In my own little world...

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by elmagicochrisg Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:53 pm

Will my 32-bit EPROM writer still work on a 64-bit machine?...
Image

Dreamcast DUX Limited Edition for sale (new, odorless and sealed)

All forum members are equal. But some are more equal than others. - George Orwell
Return to General Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests