Anything that is gaming related that doesn't fit well anywhere else
msimplay
64-bit
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:13 am

New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by msimplay Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:07 am

Hi everyone,

My computer took a turn for the worst and literally burst into flames on Friday.
I'm pretty sure it was the cheap PSU cost me 30 quid for a 600w at the time although to be fair it has lasted me about 8 years or so.
So now I have to wait until at least Tuesday for my new computer.

In any case this has bought me to a new situation.
I deciding to actually update my PC from Windows XP to Windows 7 but which version of the OS to go with.
I know 64bit can cause problems with older apps but is it safe to step into the 64bit side now ?
User avatar
ChuChu Flamingo
64-bit
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 3:49 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by ChuChu Flamingo Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:09 am

As a rule of thumb, 32 bit if you have 2 gigs or lower of ram. 64 bit if you have 4 gigs of ram or more.
Image
User avatar
Hateshinai
128-bit
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:13 am
Location: Malta,AKA the Arse End of Europe

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by Hateshinai Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:30 am

Both. Get 2 hard disks and install 32bit on one and 64bit on another. Do not make it a dual boot but rather 2 totally separate installations. You can then select which system to boot from the BIOS. That way you can still access files (but not software) on both hard disks from either OS. You can boot by default in 64bit but if you want to use a program that is not compatible you reboot in 32bit. I use a system like that: default is Windows 7 32bit and alternative is Win Xp for the few programs which don't work well in 7. I will probably add a 3 disk with 64bit Windows 7 soon.
Mostly harmless
User avatar
gtmtnbiker
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4320
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by gtmtnbiker Sun Dec 12, 2010 8:36 am

I would suggest just sticking with 64-bit. You can always run programs in a 32-bit VM (virtual machine) if you need to. There has been only one program that I had to do this with. Otherwise, compatibility is very good.
User avatar
Niode
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7835
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by Niode Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:03 am

Hateshinai wrote:Both. Get 2 hard disks and install 32bit on one and 64bit on another. Do not make it a dual boot but rather 2 totally separate installations. You can then select which system to boot from the BIOS. That way you can still access files (but not software) on both hard disks from either OS. You can boot by default in 64bit but if you want to use a program that is not compatible you reboot in 32bit. I use a system like that: default is Windows 7 32bit and alternative is Win Xp for the few programs which don't work well in 7. I will probably add a 3 disk with 64bit Windows 7 soon.


Total overkill. Just get 64bit. I've never come across anything critical (apart from older games - ironically they work better in OS X than they do in Windows) that hasn't worked.
Marurun wrote:Don’t mind-shart your pants, guys
msimplay
64-bit
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:13 am

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by msimplay Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:14 am

Niode wrote:
Hateshinai wrote:Both. Get 2 hard disks and install 32bit on one and 64bit on another. Do not make it a dual boot but rather 2 totally separate installations. You can then select which system to boot from the BIOS. That way you can still access files (but not software) on both hard disks from either OS. You can boot by default in 64bit but if you want to use a program that is not compatible you reboot in 32bit. I use a system like that: default is Windows 7 32bit and alternative is Win Xp for the few programs which don't work well in 7. I will probably add a 3 disk with 64bit Windows 7 soon.


Total overkill. Just get 64bit. I've never come across anything critical (apart from older games - ironically they work better in OS X than they do in Windows) that hasn't worked.



Thanks wondering now Ultimate , Pro or Home ?
User avatar
Niode
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7835
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by Niode Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:33 am

msimplay wrote:
Niode wrote:
Hateshinai wrote:Both. Get 2 hard disks and install 32bit on one and 64bit on another. Do not make it a dual boot but rather 2 totally separate installations. You can then select which system to boot from the BIOS. That way you can still access files (but not software) on both hard disks from either OS. You can boot by default in 64bit but if you want to use a program that is not compatible you reboot in 32bit. I use a system like that: default is Windows 7 32bit and alternative is Win Xp for the few programs which don't work well in 7. I will probably add a 3 disk with 64bit Windows 7 soon.


Total overkill. Just get 64bit. I've never come across anything critical (apart from older games - ironically they work better in OS X than they do in Windows) that hasn't worked.



Thanks wondering now Ultimate , Pro or Home ?


Pro definitely. The extras in Ultimate aren't worth the premium, and Home is missing a few key features concerning networks and network log on, it also doesn't have XP Mode either.
Marurun wrote:Don’t mind-shart your pants, guys
User avatar
fvgazi
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:16 pm
Location: Long Island NY

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by fvgazi Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:04 am

I have win 7 64bit pro. The only problem I ran into was zombie shooter 2 not working. Every other game and emulator I have work fine. Most games can run in xp compatibility or just need a few changes like being forced to run in directx9 (bioshock).
[ XBL: downedcity | PSN: biggry | Steam: Merchandise ]
Black Lodge Amplification: http://blacklodgeamps.tumblr.com/
Image
msimplay
64-bit
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:13 am

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by msimplay Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:13 am

Seems like Pro is the way to go I'm still wondering what makes if I ever needed a feature from Ultimate what would it be ?
User avatar
Niode
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7835
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: New Computer Windows 7 64bit or 32bit ?

by Niode Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:39 am

fvgazi wrote:I have win 7 64bit pro. The only problem I ran into was zombie shooter 2 not working. Every other game and emulator I have work fine. Most games can run in xp compatibility or just need a few changes like being forced to run in directx9 (bioshock).


Odd. I have Windows 7 Pro 64bit and I can run Bioshock fine in DX10 mode on max settings at 1152p...
Marurun wrote:Don’t mind-shart your pants, guys
Return to General Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests