Anything that is gaming related that doesn't fit well anywhere else
alexis524
128-bit
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Southeast PA

want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by alexis524 Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:54 am

i spent most of my work day yesterday drooling over arcade cabinet projects. Many look so very nice, and i would love to build one, but don't have the time to wrap my head around the project. Not so much the cabinet construction itself, but the circuitry involved. But here is my problem, i want to build one just to say i did and to have it, but knowing full well that i will not have the time to sit and enjoy it. I doubt it will ever get played :(
User avatar
sevin0seven
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 8938
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by sevin0seven Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:14 am

Visit my store: sevin0seven Marketplace
Bay Area Cali: Meet-up Thread
Custom Art Covers & Labels: Click here
Game Room: Click here
presicion25
24-bit
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 4:02 pm
Location: Tampa, Florida U.S.A.

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by presicion25 Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:28 am

Heres something similar:

http://www.mameroom.com/Products_Bartop_Kit.asp


I had planned on building one myself but ran out of money.
My Hong Kong Cinema blog:

http://hkcinemaquickies.blogspot.com/2010/07/intro.html

For a good videogame Podcast visit: http://www.mondocoolcast.com
User avatar
pjvdg
24-bit
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:06 am

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by pjvdg Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:30 pm

alexis524 wrote:I doubt it will ever get played :(

I know the feeling, about 8 years ago I built a small arcade myself with the help of my dad (he's a carpenter so that came in handy), but I only play it once a month at most.
(for pictures see here: http://www.puregaming.org/aquacade.html).

As for circuitry, it isn't that complicated... Even in a bartop you could put in a mini-pc with ease.
I used the internals of an old keyboard to hook up the buttons and joystick.

Anyway, I had a great time building it and when you do play it, you know it was worth putting your time into ;)
----------------------------------------------------------
Manage your retro collection on your iPhone or iPod Touch:


Others:
User avatar
sevin0seven
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 8938
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by sevin0seven Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:43 pm

pjvdg wrote:
alexis524 wrote:I doubt it will ever get played :(

I know the feeling, about 8 years ago I built a small arcade myself with the help of my dad (he's a carpenter so that came in handy), but I only play it once a month at most.
(for pictures see here: http://www.puregaming.org/aquacade.html).

As for circuitry, it isn't that complicated... Even in a bartop you could put in a mini-pc with ease.
I used the internals of an old keyboard to hook up the buttons and joystick.

Anyway, I had a great time building it and when you do play it, you know it was worth putting your time into ;)


i can relate to this. i also have a mini mame cab that i barely play or touch anymore. mostly is just in my living room for display only now. there are times that i thought about selling it, but i got a feeling i might regret that move since it's kinda one of a kind..
Visit my store: sevin0seven Marketplace
Bay Area Cali: Meet-up Thread
Custom Art Covers & Labels: Click here
Game Room: Click here
User avatar
joehero
32-bit
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:00 pm

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by joehero Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:21 pm

Before I built my cab I used www.byoac.com for all the info I needed. It was alot of fun building and playing. As for the circuitry, its not that hard. The easiest way is to purchase a keyboard encoder. Purchase joystick and buttons, they will hook up to the keyboard encoder that plugs into the keyboard port on your pc. Track ball and spinner is optional and plugs into a usb port or mouse port. The mame program is already configured for you. Last is a front end to hide windows and make it look and feel like a real cabinet.
Image
User avatar
the King
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1027
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:22 pm
Location: Hockeytown, USA

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by the King Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:45 pm

why do a bartop cab when you can just build it into a bar?


Image

http://gizmodo.com/5053212/video-game-b ... ns-at-once
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by fastbilly1 Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:50 pm

I never really played on the cabs I have owned by myself. I often would just load up an emulator on a pc and go that way. BUT when I had company over the cabs were always a hoot. The trick I found is to limit the games on there.
User avatar
noiseredux
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 38075
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:09 pm

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by noiseredux Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:50 pm

the King wrote:why do a bartop cab when you can just build it into a bar?


Image

http://gizmodo.com/5053212/video-game-b ... ns-at-once


:shock:

I have seen the light.
Image
alexis524
128-bit
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Southeast PA

Re: want to build a bartop arcade cabinet

by alexis524 Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:08 pm

nice setup King. after i checked out the hyperspin project over at UG, i will not sleep until i have it set up in a bartop cab. Oh yes, she will be mine...
Return to General Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests