Help me get into Metal Gear

Anything that is gaming related that doesn't fit well anywhere else
jfe2
Next-Gen

Help me get into Metal Gear

Post by jfe2 »

I've been a pretty big Konami fan for a long time, but sadly I've never given the Metal Gear games a shot. For whatever reason, I've never played much of Metal Gear Solid, so the sequels and spin-offs have never been on my radar. It could partly be due to the fact that I didn't own a PSX until the end of its life cycle, or perhaps it could have had something to do with the fact that the game always seemed a bit intimidating to me.

After playing a bunch of Castlevania this past month, I've decided to maybe give Konami's other favorite franchise a fair shot. Being a Metal Gear newb, I figured that I would check with my fellow Racketeers to see where I should start. Should I just try to get a hold of the PSX game, or is there a superior port I should start with?

Just to note, sorry I haven't been around lately. :( I am going through a lot of personal and medical issues right now that have been keeping me busy. Hopefully you guys will be seeing me around a bit more often now that things are starting to settle down.
AppleQueso

Re: Help me get into Metal Gear

Post by AppleQueso »

PSX original is what I would go with first.

The MGS Essential Collection is at walmart right now for $20, you can get that. It has 1, 2, and 3.

The gamecube remake is okay, but honestly you're better playing the original first.
molotovwars
Next-Gen

Post by molotovwars »

I've only played MGS 2 and it was amazing. I tried to play MGS 1 later but it was in a car and on a PSOne so I probably didn't give it a fair chance.
emwearz
Next-Gen

Post by emwearz »

I am in the same boat, I have the original but just cant get into it, I have been told Twin Snakes on the NGC is meant to be easier to get into today with its pretty graphics, voice acting and first person shooting ability, perhaps give it a shot, however it seems to cost a fair bit.