Discuss the latest happenings in the world of modern old-school
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: The OSSC Thread

by bmoc Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:13 pm

The OSSC doesn't have an HDMI input. You'll have to convert the RetroTink's output to VGA, component, or Scart with another device in order to get the the OSSC to process it.
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3666
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: The OSSC Thread

by Jagosaurus Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:40 pm

Hm...

Ok, back to Tink straight into TV. Not a big deal.

Thanks for clarifying.
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
Anapan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:15 am
Location: BC, Canada

Re: The OSSC Thread

by Anapan Tue Sep 03, 2019 4:46 am

ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: The OSSC Thread

by bmoc Sat Jan 18, 2020 2:34 pm

An OSSC Pro is in development! It will have three operating modes:

1. Lag free line multiplication (like the original OSSC)
2. Frame buffer based scaling (like the Framemeister)
3.Adaptive line multiplication

Adaptive line multiplication takes the output from normal line multiplication and places it in a 720p or 1080p window with standard VESA timings to increase compatibility. A frame buffer will not be necessary but this mode will have a small amount of latency overhead.

Best of all, the OSSC Pro will have an expansion port so you can add new modules like svideo or composite inputs. There is also potential for a game controller port expansion module. Since the OSSC Pro is going to be based on the same FPGA as the MISTer project, it will also be able to run MISTer cores!

For more details visit https://videogameperfection.com/2020/01 ... is-coming/
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3666
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: The OSSC Thread

by Jagosaurus Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:01 pm

That's pretty cool news. As someone who has researched the Mister & OSSC + Tink combo (for composite & sid vid) ... this could be a nice all in 1.
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: The OSSC Thread

by bmoc Tue Jan 21, 2020 12:26 pm

Jagosaurus wrote:That's pretty cool news. As someone who has researched the Mister & OSSC + Tink combo (for composite & sid vid) ... this could be a nice all in 1.

I figured the Analogue Pocket would be the first thing to get me into the MISTer world. I wonder which will make it to market first? I'm also curious what the OSSC Pro will cost. I assume that they will try to beat the price of the Framemeister. I'm betting $250-$300
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3666
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: The OSSC Thread

by Jagosaurus Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:03 pm

Pretty interesting product. It has a few different use cases, but s vid & composite into the OSSC via component seems like it'll be a popular one.

Koryuu
https://youtu.be/R3yIWdN0gKE
My Mod Threads
"Victory and honor do not grow from timid seeds" -Arbiter, Halo 5
User avatar
stickem
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:57 pm
Location: nashville,tn.

Re: The OSSC Thread

by stickem Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:22 pm

Anybody have an ossc that all the sudden video goes out? Got audio, no video on any the 3 consoles hooked up to it. The LCD displays shows synced, no test pattern either when console is off. Hapoened in the middle of playing. Probably nothing I can fix so dam I guess I'll have to get another.
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: The OSSC Thread

by bmoc Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:40 pm

Never experienced that myself. My advice would be to first rule out other devices in the chain such as SCART or HDMI switchers. Try a different HDMI port on your tv as well. If none of that works, try updating the OSSC firmware.
User avatar
stickem
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:57 pm
Location: nashville,tn.

Re: The OSSC Thread

by stickem Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:55 pm

Removed the switcher from the equation, same issue. Just googling may be the hdmi output may have shit the bed. Hell I tried to do a firmware update. Slid the micro SD card in the slot and the metal clip to keep it in place fell off, can't update that anymore. Year and a half and I have to rebuy it. Shit lol.

Update: on the same 2 year old tv, 3do via retrotink/ hdmi didnt work, ps3 via hdmi didn't work. Hooked up an amazon scart to hdmi special that I new worked, nothing. Figured, great ports went out, another tv that has to be replaced after a few years. Last hope, unplugged tv for 15 minutes, hooked everything up and the shit worked again. Stuff like this kills me lol. Wasted 3 hours but glad I'm up and running again. Rant over.
Return to Old-School Gaming News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests