Page 4 of 19

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:15 pm
by Tanooki
I can't get behind anything near that price with the threat of paying let's say $50 a module for +1 system. Screw that. If you wanted some swiss army knife of a system buy the RetroFreak. Get like 11 systems in that for $200, or eventually get 11 systems out of Retroblox for what...$500? $800? NO.

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:18 pm
by SpikeSlania
It has my interest just for the hopefully newer better made cd hardware for Sega Cd and PC Engine. Though they could just go cheap on those mods and that would be the end of that. That is what my only interest is so far for this.

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:30 pm
by Sarge
See, the appeal for a disc-based system is a little less for me, because I can already rip my games using a bog-standard CD drive. I can't do that with my carts. It's a cool idea, but I'd rather have, say, an affordable FPGA clone of the Turbo Duo. :)

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:38 pm
by BoneSnapDeez
I'm excited about the Atari support. :lol:

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:55 pm
by bmoc
I'm just thinking of all the ac adapters I could get rid of with the Sega module alone. :lol: You know, assuming the emulation is up to snuff. And that is really what has me the most concerned - the quality of the emulation. I'm ok with the target price if the quality is there and it is an effective replacement for original hardware.

If only they had an N64 and Saturn module, I could potentially sell all my RGB gear and come out way ahead.

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:58 pm
by Sarge
It might be okay if they're not using the same core as MD.emu. I know that Lunar: Eternal Blue still crashes in the intro. I think whatever they used in RetroArch worked fine.

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:03 pm
by Hazerd
Soft-modding a Wii is cheaper and easier to acquire if this RetroBlox is using Emulation.

I for one have played Sega CD and TurboCD games on my modded Wii.

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:45 am
by Sarge
Yup, and it works quite nicely, too! Except for Exile II, I never could get it to recognize that, yes, I was using a System 3.0 card. :(

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:21 am
by Jagosaurus
Hazerd wrote:Soft-modding a Wii is cheaper and easier to acquire if this RetroBlox is using Emulation.

I for one have played Sega CD and TurboCD games on my modded Wii.


The oXbox mod lets you put actual Sega CD games in the game tray & reads them. That's awesome. Isn't it just .bins on wii?

The PS2 Neo Geo CD emu also runs retail NGCD games IIRC.

Those 2 are the closest I've seen to get actual games to run vs files.

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 10:15 am
by marurun
Sarge wrote:It's a cool idea, but I'd rather have, say, an affordable FPGA clone of the Turbo Duo. :)


This. Totally this. There are already FPGA projects out there that have completely mapped out the 6502, so it's down to the custom silicon and support chips.