Discuss the latest happenings in the world of modern old-school
Tanooki
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:06 pm

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by Tanooki Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:15 pm

I can't get behind anything near that price with the threat of paying let's say $50 a module for +1 system. Screw that. If you wanted some swiss army knife of a system buy the RetroFreak. Get like 11 systems in that for $200, or eventually get 11 systems out of Retroblox for what...$500? $800? NO.
User avatar
SpikeSlania
16-bit
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:33 pm

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by SpikeSlania Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:18 pm

It has my interest just for the hopefully newer better made cd hardware for Sega Cd and PC Engine. Though they could just go cheap on those mods and that would be the end of that. That is what my only interest is so far for this.
User avatar
Sarge
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by Sarge Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:30 pm

See, the appeal for a disc-based system is a little less for me, because I can already rip my games using a bog-standard CD drive. I can't do that with my carts. It's a cool idea, but I'd rather have, say, an affordable FPGA clone of the Turbo Duo. :)
Hardcore Retro Gaming - Talk about games ten years old or older. Now with a modern gaming section!
“History isn't just the story of bad people doing bad things. It's quite as much a story of people trying to do good things. But somehow, something goes wrong.” -- C.S. Lewis
User avatar
BoneSnapDeez
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 18911
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: Maine

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by BoneSnapDeez Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:38 pm

I'm excited about the Atari support. :lol:
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by bmoc Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:55 pm

I'm just thinking of all the ac adapters I could get rid of with the Sega module alone. :lol: You know, assuming the emulation is up to snuff. And that is really what has me the most concerned - the quality of the emulation. I'm ok with the target price if the quality is there and it is an effective replacement for original hardware.

If only they had an N64 and Saturn module, I could potentially sell all my RGB gear and come out way ahead.
User avatar
Sarge
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by Sarge Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:58 pm

It might be okay if they're not using the same core as MD.emu. I know that Lunar: Eternal Blue still crashes in the intro. I think whatever they used in RetroArch worked fine.
Hardcore Retro Gaming - Talk about games ten years old or older. Now with a modern gaming section!
“History isn't just the story of bad people doing bad things. It's quite as much a story of people trying to do good things. But somehow, something goes wrong.” -- C.S. Lewis
User avatar
Hazerd
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 5:40 pm

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by Hazerd Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:03 pm

Soft-modding a Wii is cheaper and easier to acquire if this RetroBlox is using Emulation.

I for one have played Sega CD and TurboCD games on my modded Wii.
Image
Image
User avatar
Sarge
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7210
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by Sarge Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:45 am

Yup, and it works quite nicely, too! Except for Exile II, I never could get it to recognize that, yes, I was using a System 3.0 card. :(
Hardcore Retro Gaming - Talk about games ten years old or older. Now with a modern gaming section!
“History isn't just the story of bad people doing bad things. It's quite as much a story of people trying to do good things. But somehow, something goes wrong.” -- C.S. Lewis
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3319
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by Jagosaurus Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:21 am

Hazerd wrote:Soft-modding a Wii is cheaper and easier to acquire if this RetroBlox is using Emulation.

I for one have played Sega CD and TurboCD games on my modded Wii.


The oXbox mod lets you put actual Sega CD games in the game tray & reads them. That's awesome. Isn't it just .bins on wii?

The PS2 Neo Geo CD emu also runs retail NGCD games IIRC.

Those 2 are the closest I've seen to get actual games to run vs files.
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 9363
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" - 2600 to PCE-CD to PS1

by marurun Fri Feb 10, 2017 10:15 am

Sarge wrote:It's a cool idea, but I'd rather have, say, an affordable FPGA clone of the Turbo Duo. :)


This. Totally this. There are already FPGA projects out there that have completely mapped out the 6502, so it's down to the custom silicon and support chips.
B/S/T thread
My Classic Games Collection
My Steam Profile
The PC Engine Software Bible Forum, with Shoutbox chat - the new Internet home for PC Engine fandom.
Return to Old-School Gaming News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests