Discuss the latest happenings in the world of modern old-school
User avatar
ElkinFencer10
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7510
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Henderson, North Carolina

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by ElkinFencer10 Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:38 am

bmoc wrote:Well I took the plunge on the base unit this weekend. Now begins the 7 month wait. :(

I'm woefully ignorant of NeoGeo CD and Turbografx/PCE CD games so I'm open to suggestions. I've got a few ideas from this thread and Racketboy's "Defining Games" articles. I also wouldn't mind some suggestions on PS1 games to import (both PAL and JPN). I will be traveling to Ireland soon so I'm very interested in PAL exclusives.

Heyyy I've got all three Ys releases on TGCD for sale right now. You know, just in case you want to make the best decision of your life. :wink:
Exhuminator wrote:Ecchi lords must unite for great justice.

Image
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by bmoc Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:26 am

ElkinFencer10 wrote:Heyyy I've got all three Ys releases on TGCD for sale right now. You know, just in case you want to make the best decision of your life. :wink:

Thanks but I am probably going to wait until I have this thing in hand before I invest in some of the pricier titles. I don't want to be out too much money on the off chance this is a dud.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9364
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by racketboy Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:08 am

Well, if you're into shooters, there's a lot of CD ones to be found on the TG16/PC Engine
http://www.racketboy.com/retro/the-turb ... exclusives
http://www.racketboy.com/retro/the-turb ... t-2-arcade

It might be fun to eventually do a guide to Neo-Geo CD specifically...
guitalele81
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:35 am

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by guitalele81 Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:02 am

I really hope this system delivers...I read an article on Nintendo Life where they got a hands on with the system and said it was really good, but had heat issues at the time (hopefully those will be fixed). I have a Retro Freak and really like it a lot, but it'd be awesome to be able to play the PS1 and Saturn games I missed out on.
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by Jagosaurus Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:17 pm

Apparently there's been some drama and disconcerting things recently surrounding this:

https://youtu.be/9cZbYGlcrZE

Edit/Add:
Video by Kris at MarauderEX youtube Channel. You might recognize the name from RPGamer, Operation Rainfall, and his brief time here posting at RB. Dig his YT work.
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by bmoc Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:56 am

They definitely could have handled things better for sure. Announcing major hardware changes the day pre-orders go live was not cool. That should have been communicated weeks in a advance. They were still touting their FPGA "Hybrid Emulation" during and after E3.

The Daytona Sega Rally footage being "faked" with arcade footage was most likely a mistake just as they have said. The Panzer Dragoon footage immediately following it looked real enough to me. They are supposed to upload some new Saturn footage this week. However, I would have made getting Saturn footage up a bigger priority because of the screw up.

The website being down for as long as it was should have been 100% avoidable. According to Polymega/Playmaji, someone in Missouri was opening up hundreds of connections to their webserver at a time. Hundreds of connections shouldn't take down a website unless the PR guy misspoke and it was hundreds of connections a second. In any case, anti-DDoS measures should have been in place day 1 along with a backend that can scale up during times of heavy load.

Speaking of PR, the have put out a few snarky comments on social media. A lot of that was probably due to working long hours because of the website outages along with damage control of the items listed above. I'm speculating but I think that one developers just got the short straw and is wearing the PR & Marketing hat. I get that they are a startup with a small team so I am willing to cut them some slack but they really need to knock it off with the snarky comments. That said, they are absolutely working their asses off getting customer service issues dealt with. I don't envy their customer service team right now.

All that said, I am supporting them with a base unit pre-order and I really do wish that they succeed. I also hope that they listen to customer feedback and make changes where financially feasible.
Last edited by bmoc on Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9364
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by racketboy Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:42 am

Yeah with projects like this, I really doubt they have dedicated customer service. They could outsource, but then you wouldn't be able to provide useful responses about technical stuff, etc. The joys of being a startup.

Some people seem to think these places are big companies with lots of resources. They are doing a good job in certain aspects, but I don't think we can expect perfection.
User avatar
Jmustang1968
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6494
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:51 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by Jmustang1968 Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:58 am

My interest in this has really died a lot. Another emulation machine with seemingly expensive modules isnt that enticing.
User avatar
Jagosaurus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Houston, TEXAS

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by Jagosaurus Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:20 pm

Agreed. PC emulators also support real disc and digital images. You just limited our options going to emu on this device.

Also, right now no flash cart support.

I love the initial idea and spirit of this thing... but the execution isn't there.

Did the other disc based solution ever come out? Xseed or something similar?
User avatar
bmoc
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Polymega/Retroblox: New 1080p "Clone" 2600 to PCE-CD to

by bmoc Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:54 pm

Jagosaurus wrote:Did the other disc based solution ever come out? Xseed or something similar?

Seedi did not meet its funding goal. I think it has been dead in the water ever since.
Return to Old-School Gaming News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests