Page 2 of 9

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 7:55 pm
by noiseredux
BoneSnapDeez wrote:Yeah the DOS controls are pretty ass. I would Joy2Key that shiz.


I use Pinnacle Game Profiler... same idea, but a slicker interface.

But yo. This game is good! I just beat level 2. (using stupid keyboard controls)

TLPT

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 7:59 pm
by BoneSnapDeez
Glad you like it.

Here are the SNES controls, if you want to try to get the DOS controls to match that layout:

http://strategywiki.org/wiki/The_Lost_Vikings/Controls

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 8:18 pm
by noiseredux
already made a controller profile in Pinnacle. Let me talk up Pinnacle for a second... not only does it have TONS of pre-set games you can load instead of making your own, but you can make your own super easy. But what's even better, you can launch the game from Pinnacle. So I just open Pinnacle, click on Lost Vikings in the list and it launches the game for me, along w/ DOSBox and has the controller working right away. Brilliant piece of software. I used to use Joy2Key, but Pinnacle is so much better. Rare for me to pay for such a program, but it's money WELL spent if you play a lot of old games (like you, Bone). You can even use it to emulate the mouse in Windows if you want. I'm pretty sure that's what Stark does for his TVbox.

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 12:41 pm
by tinkernaut
I'm really excited to start this game. I just discovered this site a few days ago, and Together Retro is what made me decide to join instead of just lurk. I'll be starting this on SNES this weekend. Looking forward to seeing how it goes.

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 3:04 pm
by Duane Dibbley
This game is currently free on Battle.net. Just log into your account, and it should be listed under Games & Codes/Download Game Clients. I look forward to trying it out.

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 3:06 pm
by BoneSnapDeez
I'm in the "Candy Land" section of the game now. This is where the difficulty ramps up considerably.

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 3:07 pm
by noiseredux
I think I left off on LVL 3. (GRND)

Question: if all 3 vikings must get to the exit, why is it that the game doesn't end if one of the 3 dies?

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 3:11 pm
by BoneSnapDeez
Good question.

I guess theoretically the programmers wanted to give you a chance to "explore" the level even if it was all in vain. And isn't there some dialogue if you finish a level without a viking or two? I honestly can't remember. I always restart a level as soon as a viking dies.

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 3:15 pm
by Stark
noiseredux wrote:already made a controller profile in Pinnacle. Let me talk up Pinnacle for a second... not only does it have TONS of pre-set games you can load instead of making your own, but you can make your own super easy. But what's even better, you can launch the game from Pinnacle. So I just open Pinnacle, click on Lost Vikings in the list and it launches the game for me, along w/ DOSBox and has the controller working right away. Brilliant piece of software. I used to use Joy2Key, but Pinnacle is so much better. Rare for me to pay for such a program, but it's money WELL spent if you play a lot of old games (like you, Bone). You can even use it to emulate the mouse in Windows if you want. I'm pretty sure that's what Stark does for his TVbox.

+1 would agree with post again

Plus I think it's only like $5.

Re: Together Retro: The Lost Vikings

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 5:21 pm
by Stark