Page 1 of 1

ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 5:56 pm
by Fragems
Was looking at the Viewsonic NextVision 6 and noticed a very reasonably priced HD12 that was somewhat beat up and missing the remote but in working condition.

Was wondering if anyone had one of these or an older model and could tell me if they are usable without the remote. I wouldn't necessarily mind not having a remote since I wouldn't be changing the settings to often, but I'm not sure if I can access all the features using the front panel alone.

Also might try a Logitech Harmony 650 remote if I get it. According to the compatibility list on Logitech's site it supports the HD12.

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 6:23 pm
by noiseredux
If mem serves theres settings on the n6 you can only adjust via remote...

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 6:55 pm
by Fragems
Decided to give it a shot. Seller offered to go $35 Shipped and said he was able to turn it on and get to the menu without any problems. As long as I can get to a menu screen I can probably manipulate most if not all of the features I need to. If that doesn't work I'll pick up a Harmony 650 been wanting to try one of those anyways.

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 6:55 pm
by noiseredux
$35 shipped is stupid to not give it a shot. And yeah, if you need an excuse for a Harmony then good stuff!

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:17 pm
by Fragems
Really looking forward to trying it out. Should beat the living hell out of the cheapo VGA converter I bought a while back.

Image

Specs:
Viewsonic NextVision HD 12

ATSC and NTSC Compatible
Outputs 480i/480p/720p/1080i
DVI Output (w/HDCP), easily convertible to HDMI
(4) DIN, RGB (HDCP) Outputs
Composite, S-Video, Component Outputs
(2) Composite (1) S-Video Input
Upconverts External Analog Components
Optical and Coaxial Digital Audio Outputs
11.2"W x 3.1"H x 14.4"D
Weight: 7.9 lbs.
MSRP: $399

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 10:54 pm
by Fragems
Got it today and it actually wasn't in that bad a shape. It also appears to be functioning just fine. Sadly I can confirm it is a brick without the remote :P. The Channel Scan and Parental options are both locked behind a password which you can't input without the remote. There is also no input switching option in the menu :P.

Image

Image

Hopefully the Harmony 650 Remote i just ordered remedies this problem :P. Should be here around Saturday or Monday.

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:08 am
by noiseredux
^nice dood. Let me know how the Harmony works out for you.

One of my cats ate thru the wire for the sensor bar in my game room. Since I mostly only use that thing for Netflix/Youtube, I've been in no rush to replace it. I'm actually thinking of just ordering a Harmony and using my spare Win8 PC as a media center.

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:01 am
by Frag Mortuus
So what does this thing do?

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 11:10 am
by Fragems
Basically it has inputs for Composite, S-Video, RF,abd RGB and can output in RGB, DVI, Component and Composite. Got it mainly so that I can display my consoles on my monitor with hopefully much better quality then the cheapy Chinese VGA adapter I Picked up :P. It can upscale images to 480p, 720p, and 1080i. Plus it has DOLBY DIGITAL and MPEG audio decoding.

Picked it up over the N6 mainly because of the DVI output. Kind of sucks that there is hardly any information to be had online about this unit though :P. Viewsonic seems to have completely scrubbed it from there site :P.

Re: ViewSonic NextVision HD12 anyone have one?

Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 3:51 pm
by Fragems
Harmony 650 got the job done :).

Image