Discuss Your Gaming Environments and AV Setups
User avatar
benderx
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by benderx Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:44 pm

Lucky you have the real import of Darkstalker collection for ps2. I have been trying to get this game to boot, but can't. If anyone can let me know. Im planning to make a backup copy to see if it boots up with swapmagic because hdloader freezes.
You took too long, now your candy's gone. That's What happens. Bkowwwww. (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
User avatar
noiseredux
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 38007
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:09 pm

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by noiseredux Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:54 pm

benderx wrote:Lucky you have the real import of Darkstalker collection for ps2. I have been trying to get this game to boot, but can't. If anyone can let me know. Im planning to make a backup copy to see if it boots up with swapmagic because hdloader freezes.


yeah I have the real copy but it freezes too. And my ESR-patched copy freezes too. So you've got me. :? I"m using a slim PS2. You?
Image
User avatar
dsheinem
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 23005
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:56 pm
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by dsheinem Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:02 pm

noiseredux wrote:
benderx wrote:Lucky you have the real import of Darkstalker collection for ps2. I have been trying to get this game to boot, but can't. If anyone can let me know. Im planning to make a backup copy to see if it boots up with swapmagic because hdloader freezes.


yeah I have the real copy but it freezes too. And my ESR-patched copy freezes too. So you've got me. :? I"m using a slim PS2. You?


How bad is the freezing? I had interest at one point, but now much less...
User avatar
noiseredux
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 38007
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:09 pm

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by noiseredux Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:07 pm

it freezes whenever you select a game from the list of games. I'm doing reserach. Wondering if a game with a huge TOC used a boot-disc would help. WHo knows what PS2 games have the biggest TOC's?
Image
AppleQueso
 

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by AppleQueso Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:36 pm

iirc Darkstalkers Collection is one of those games that just doesn't work well with Swap Magic
User avatar
benderx
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by benderx Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:01 am

noiseredux wrote:it freezes whenever you select a game from the list of games. I'm doing reserach. Wondering if a game with a huge TOC used a boot-disc would help. WHo knows what PS2 games have the biggest TOC's?

wow same thing happens to me. Pick a game from the collection "loading..." I use a phat ps2 model. I download the game from bittorent site. Maybe it only works with a modchip, clueless and I don''t have modchip. usually devil may cry has a big toc. Maybe I should try god of war 2 dvd-9 then load darkstalkers collection ps2 and see what happens. I'll report back.
You took too long, now your candy's gone. That's What happens. Bkowwwww. (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
User avatar
noiseredux
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 38007
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:09 pm

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by noiseredux Sat Apr 02, 2011 8:55 am

there's some rumors that I've found from googling that the issue is that Darkstalkers Collection is a rare game that actually requires the Japanese HDD. I'm not sure if that's true or not. But I'm still tryiing to find proof of anyone who can get this game to work via Swap.
Image
User avatar
emwearz
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by emwearz Sat Apr 02, 2011 6:07 pm

It should work with Swap Magic and ESR. The only way it wont work is via HDLoader because it uses a multi .elf loading system. I will have to get hold of a copy and give it a try, now I am interested.

High TOC Games
4.37GB USA Fifa Street
4.37GB USA Devil May Cry (SLUS 20216 - 4,698,767,360 bytes)
4.37GB USA Resident Evil Outbreak (SLUS 20765 - 4,698,767,360 bytes)
4.37GB USA Sonic Heroes (SLUS 20718 - 4,698,767,360 bytes)
4.37GB USA FIFA Soccer 2005 (SLUS 21051 - 4,698,734,592 bytes)
4.37GB USA NBA Street V3 (SLUS 21126 - 4,698,701,824 bytes)
4.37GB USA Star Wars: Battlefront (SLUS 20898 - 4,697,260,032 bytes)
4.37GB PAL Mortal Kombat - Deception SLES52705 4696997888
4.37GB USA Mercenaries (SLUS 20932 - 4,696,604,672 bytes)
4.37GB USA Samurai Warriors: Extreme Legends
4.37GB USA Sonic Mega Collection
4.37GB PAL FIFA 2005 (SLES52561
4.37GB USA Def Jam: Fight for NY (SLUS 21004 - 4,694,573,056 bytes)
4.37GB PAL Def Jam: Fight for NY (4,695,392,256 bytes)
4.37GB USA Terminator 3: The Redemption (SLUS 20852 - 4,694,245,376 bytes)
4.37GB PAL Star Wars: Battlefront
4.37GB PAL Contra - Shattered Soldier (SLES51284
4.37GB JAP Xenosaga Episode II JAP Disc 1
4.37GB JAP Xenosaga Episode II JAP Disc 2
4.37GB JAP BioHazard Outbreak (4,698,767,360 bytes)
4.37GB USA Manhunt (4,698,767,360 bytes)
4.37GB USA DEVIL MAY CRY 2 DISK 1 (4,698,767,360 bytes)


EDIT: As I said above with the Multi .elf the issue is apparently when you select a new game, it rechecks the region of your console.

EDIT EDIT: I saw this possible solution.
Anyhoo, get ISOBuster, extract a .ISO of your DVD. Then get the Memento Disc patcher and patch the ISO. You can confirm it has been patched by opening the ISO again in ISOBuster and seeing the UDF file system renamed to DVD_TS or something like that. But the regular ISO file system will be the original still.
User avatar
noiseredux
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 38007
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:09 pm

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by noiseredux Sat Apr 02, 2011 7:28 pm

I have SOnic Mega. I can try that. No idea what patching with ISOBuster means.
Image
User avatar
benderx
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: My Darkstalkers Collection

by benderx Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:48 pm

I know street fighter alpha collection has that feature of "Capcom HDD". So upon start up of darkstalkers i believe it says something about HDD. Bad News my PS2 reset strip fell off. So i have to replace that part soon. :(
You took too long, now your candy's gone. That's What happens. Bkowwwww. (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
Return to Game Rooms & Home Theater

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests