Emu Talk Goes Here
User avatar
SuperDerpBro
64-bit
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:03 pm
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada

Anyone use RetroPie here?

by SuperDerpBro Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:47 pm

I had a spare Pi3 laying around that didn't have a job to do. Always wanted to try RetroPi but my Pi's were always doing other things. So today i tried. Followed the official install guide. Put Mario 3 and World on it. I got the the PLAY part of the guide and... Pretty noticeable input lag on both games and Mario World runs at 58 FPS (Only setting i changed was to to show FPS). How do so many people play on these? heh

No heat sink on the chips.. throttling? Still, that input lag tho..
User avatar
sevin0seven
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 8938
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by sevin0seven Sat Apr 07, 2018 8:45 pm

I have messed around with Retropie before. Its a hit and miss with the games running on the provided emulators; but I'm surprised your having input lag with those said games. All the games I tried so far seems to run fine; except for Star Fox 2 for the SNES (laggy). The PSP and N64 emulators are the ones I'm having lots of compatibility issues with (haven't tried the Dreamcast yet). You could try to (ahem) overclock your Pi3 if you choose to; it helps with the performance. But doing so can kill your Pi's life especially if you don't have a heat sink installed. Right now i'm running with a stable over clock setting with these numbers:

arm_freq=1250
gpu_freq=500
core_freq=500
sdram_freq=500
sdram_schmoo=0x02000020
over_voltage=2
sdram_over_voltage=2
Visit my store: sevin0seven Marketplace
Bay Area Cali: Meet-up Thread
Custom Art Covers & Labels: Click here
Game Room: Click here
User avatar
SuperDerpBro
64-bit
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:03 pm
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by SuperDerpBro Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:33 am

sevin0seven wrote:but I'm surprised your having input lag with those said games.


Even if your game is running perfect you can have input lag. Just in case you dont know.. it is the time it takes between pressing a button and having the action represented on screen. I have tried about 35 games now. The input lag is pretty bad. It is a proven and known thing for RetroPie. I'm honestly surprised you are surprised hehe. Input lag on RetroPie is about 6 frames for NES and 7-8 frames for SNES (100-133 ms!!). I thought it might be OK since so many people use it.. but now im just wondering how they use it. LOL.
User avatar
samsonlonghair
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5065
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:11 pm
Location: Now: Newport News, VA. Formerly: Richmond. Before that: Near the WV/VA border

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by samsonlonghair Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:48 am

C’mon dude, of course seven knows what input lag means. He’s a street fighter fan. Anyone who plays fast-paced arcade fighting games is familiar with the concept of input lag.

On a more helpful note, github has a page dedicated to reducing input lag on your retropie.
https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Input-Lag

Hope this helps. Peace!
User avatar
Old Gregg
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by Old Gregg Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:56 am

I'm not sure if running an emulator on such a thing as this is feasible, though it would be interesting.

https://lifehacker.com/link-multiple-raspberry-pis-together-for-a-souped-up-di-1761556292

Could it help the lag you speak of... or would it make it worse?
User avatar
SuperDerpBro
64-bit
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:03 pm
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by SuperDerpBro Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:12 pm

samsonlonghair wrote:C’mon dude, of course seven knows what input lag means. He’s a street fighter fan. Anyone who plays fast-paced arcade fighting games is familiar with the concept of input lag.

On a more helpful note, github has a page dedicated to reducing input lag on your retropie.
https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Input-Lag

Hope this helps. Peace!


C’mon dude, how is anyone supposed to know what a person does or does not know about input lag (or anything) based on an avatar (of someone i don't know) on a forum? Better to make it clear.

I have tried those and there is still too much lag. Using RetroArch with hardsync on PC has made RetroPie unplayable to me i guess. Good thing i didn't buy the NESPi case, with the goal of dedicating this Pi to games, before testing :D
User avatar
samsonlonghair
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5065
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:11 pm
Location: Now: Newport News, VA. Formerly: Richmond. Before that: Near the WV/VA border

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by samsonlonghair Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:26 pm

Alright, fair enough dude. :lol:

I’m not a big fan of raspberry pi, myself. I think you’re better off using an old PC or laptop (or even an old netbook) for a dedicated emulation platform.

I tried looking into a project called “Lakka” for a snazzy dedicated emulator box, but I haven’t had a bit of success setting it up yet.

For now, the best option remains windows. That might seem plain Jane, or noobish. If I’m being strictly pragmatic, I would say that windows runs retro emulators with less fuss than any other platform.
User avatar
SuperDerpBro
64-bit
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:03 pm
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by SuperDerpBro Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:21 pm

:D :D

I do have an ultra small form factor (i5 forget the number) PC that i use Retroarch and Launch box on. It's about the size of a PS3 slim. Runs everything up to simple GC PS2 and Wii. Even with no GPU. But the Pi is so dang tiny! Wanted to make a little NES for fun and maybe gift to my brother.

Lakka looks great.. there is also Batocera. But yes, Would rather have Windows behind a front end so i can mess with it if i have to. :P
User avatar
sevin0seven
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 8938
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by sevin0seven Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:12 am

samsonlonghair wrote:C’mon dude, of course seven knows what input lag means. He’s a street fighter fan. Anyone who plays fast-paced arcade fighting games is familiar with the concept of input lag.


:lol:

SuperDerpBro wrote:Even if your game is running perfect you can have input lag. Just in case you dont know.. it is the time it takes between pressing a button and having the action represented on screen. I have tried about 35 games now. The input lag is pretty bad. It is a proven and known thing for RetroPie. I'm honestly surprised you are surprised hehe. Input lag on RetroPie is about 6 frames for NES and 7-8 frames for SNES (100-133 ms!!). I thought it might be OK since so many people use it.. but now im just wondering how they use it. LOL.


Question; are you using a bluetooth controller device?

I'm using a usb (official) sega saturn controller pad. I think I read somewhere a blue tooth controller could have a play with those extra timing input.

I also read that some Lakka emulation are better than retropie. So you can definitely try that latter.
Visit my store: sevin0seven Marketplace
Bay Area Cali: Meet-up Thread
Custom Art Covers & Labels: Click here
Game Room: Click here
User avatar
SuperDerpBro
64-bit
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:03 pm
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada

Re: Anyone use RetroPie here?

by SuperDerpBro Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:24 pm

Using one of these

Image

I have an official USB Saturn pad and an iBuffalo SNES pad to try but i really doubt its the pad.

It's just way to laggy after playing on a PC with Hard Sync on. :/
Return to Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest