Emu Talk Goes Here
User avatar
SuperDerpBro
24-bit
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:03 pm
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada

Can RetroArch Shaders Be Run On Intel HD Graphics?

by SuperDerpBro Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:17 am

Hello. I mainly run crt-easymode on my PC (6600K 1060) when playing NES/SNES/Genesis/GBA. I am thinking about buying a cheap refurb USFF PC for running these on my TV. The cheapest one i can find that isn't a core 2 duo has a Celeron G1610 with "Intel® HD Graphics". The only info available at Intel says Base Frequency 650 MHz Max 1.05 GHz. Is that enough to run easymode?

Thanks

EDIT: I found one with a i5-2500S and Intel® HD Graphics 2000 for a bit cheaper. Same question :P
EDIT2: I found one with a i5-3570S and Intel® HD Graphics 2500 for the same price as the first. Same question :P
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 7526
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Can RetroArch Shaders Be Run On Intel HD Graphics?

by marurun Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:56 am

RetroArch shaders can be run on some IntelHD chips, but anything from the HD3000 series and older won't work with Windows 10, because Intel doesn't officially support Windows 10 and the MS-provided driver doesn't offer some support RetroArch needs. I've tried installing RetroArch on my laptop and it just won't work because of that.
User avatar
SuperDerpBro
24-bit
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:03 pm
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada

Re: Can RetroArch Shaders Be Run On Intel HD Graphics?

by SuperDerpBro Sat Aug 26, 2017 4:58 am

Hmm :/

I see a Win10 Intel driver for the 2500

Edit: does this apply to Win8.1? I tend to use that more than 10. I only have one machine on 10 (old Laptop)
User avatar
marurun
Moderator
 
Posts: 7526
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:51 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Can RetroArch Shaders Be Run On Intel HD Graphics?

by marurun Sat Aug 26, 2017 10:16 am

I don't think it applies to 8
User avatar
SuperDerpBro
24-bit
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:03 pm
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada

Re: Can RetroArch Shaders Be Run On Intel HD Graphics?

by SuperDerpBro Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:33 am

The 2500 works fine in Windows 10. Official Intel driver and all.

All of the good shaders are pretty slow on anything higher than SNES/GEN though. Still not perfect 60/60 on those two :(. Drops frames here and there. If i disable GPU hard sync it will get a full 60/60 but im not doing that. Guess its crt-hyllian up to SNES/GEN and none for PSX/N64 :(
Return to Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests