Emu Talk Goes Here
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

DS emulation

by fastbilly1 Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:07 am

So I see that DS emulation is to the point where you can play alot of games, but I have a few questions if anyone can answer that would be awesome. I tried looking on the DeSmuME but the website is so cluttered and the wifi part was full of insults to other people writing it.

1. Can you play multiplayer via LAN - specifically Mario Kart DS
2. Can you apply an Anti-aliasing filter to get rid of some of the jaggies?

I imagine that you can for the second, if you cant its not a huge deal. The first however is what I am waiting for. Once I can play Mario Kart DS in LAN we will start playing it at my house. The PCs I have should all be beefy enough to run the emulator, and they are all connected via Cat 6 cable to a gigabit switch - so the hardware should not be a problem.
tintinmayo
24-bit
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:28 pm

Re: DS emulation

by tintinmayo Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:08 pm

1. Desmume supports multiplayer (both through lan and wifi), but you need to use a DS firmware instead of Desmume's emulated one (shouldn't be hard to find a dump these days, IIRC, emuparadise has bios files for just about every system that has had its firmware dumped). The step by step directions, if you have the patience, can be found in hyeah

2. Desmume again (it's currently the DS emu to go to if you want compatibility, speed, and extra features these days anyway), has a wide variety of post processing filters at the View>Magnification Filter option. It has LQ*x,HQ*x,EP*x, and the regular mainstays bilinear, supereagle, super2xsai, and scanlines (more of an aperture grill look to it instead of actual lines, though). The speed hit is negligible. If you can run the games fullspeed at 3x window size, the filters won't be any problem at 2x window size.

About the only problem I have with DS emulation is that the screen itself prevents you from taking full advantage of the monitor's real estate. I dislike having black bars or playing in a window so being limited to 2x window size just to fit everything inside the monitor is distracting. You can put the two windows side by side so they'd fit in a widescreen monitor but it ruins games that use both screens to render a single picture.
User avatar
Valkyrie-Favor
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:27 pm
Location: Skies over Midgard

Re: DS emulation

by Valkyrie-Favor Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:17 pm

If you have a laptop or rotatable screen, set it to "portrait" and enjoy. I don't do any DS emulation, but I use it all the time for manga.

Image
Tsun tsun dere tsun dere tsun tsun~ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . UPDATED trade list
Image
noiseredux wrote:Playing on your GBA/PSP you can be watching a movie/TV show/playing another RPG on your TV and then just look at the screen every once in a while
tintinmayo
24-bit
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:28 pm

Re: DS emulation

by tintinmayo Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:31 pm

Sadly, I don't have a rotatable screen. But I would sure like one, as it would work really well for SHMUPs.

I have a laptop, though. I wonder how safe it is to operate it while turned on its side?
User avatar
Valkyrie-Favor
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:27 pm
Location: Skies over Midgard

Re: DS emulation

by Valkyrie-Favor Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:42 pm

Perfectly save. I can even use the keyboard without worry. Even if yours isn't that well-balanced, you'll have no problem using external controllers or whatever.
Tsun tsun dere tsun dere tsun tsun~ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . UPDATED trade list
Image
noiseredux wrote:Playing on your GBA/PSP you can be watching a movie/TV show/playing another RPG on your TV and then just look at the screen every once in a while
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

Re: DS emulation

by fastbilly1 Wed Apr 17, 2013 9:39 am

Thank you so much tintinmayo, Ive been looking for this info off and on for a while and never found a good answer anywhere. Ill experiment with it and get back to you.

As for split monitor, I can always just install two monitors on each pc. Since we mostly just want to play Mario Kart this shouldnt be a problem anyway. But if we expand into others like the FFCCs we will have to figure something else out. 15inch touch screens are only $160ish on Monoprice.
Return to Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests