Emu Talk Goes Here
User avatar
Nyukki
128-bit
 
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:04 am
Location: Beijing

Neo Geo AES on MAME - Coins?

by Nyukki Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:50 am

I've never played on a real life AES, but I'm aware that the games are essentially identical to their MVS counterparts. When I recently added an AES wheel to my HyperSpin, I was surprised that the game still asks you to "insert coin" to play.

Did the original AES joysticks have a "coin" button? Or am I using the wrong romset?

Thanks
AppleQueso
 

Re: Neo Geo AES on MAME - Coins?

by AppleQueso Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:51 am

Maybe you accidentally used the MVS bios?
User avatar
dsheinem
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 23119
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:56 pm
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania

Re: Neo Geo AES on MAME - Coins?

by dsheinem Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:53 am

Nyukki wrote:I've never played on a real life AES, but I'm aware that the games are essentially identical to their MVS counterparts. When I recently added an AES wheel to my HyperSpin, I was surprised that the game still asks you to "insert coin" to play.

Did the original AES joysticks have a "coin" button? Or am I using the wrong romset?

Thanks


in MAME you can set a button to "coin". I think the home console used "select" as the coin button.
User avatar
xan_racketBOY_fan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1098
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 12:22 pm
Location: California

Re: Neo Geo AES on MAME - Coins?

by xan_racketBOY_fan Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:57 am

Select = Coin

Image
Image
User avatar
Nyukki
128-bit
 
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:04 am
Location: Beijing

Re: Neo Geo AES on MAME - Coins?

by Nyukki Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:49 am

I see, got it, thanks.

So the home console used a coin button as well, meaning the games are all virtually identical to their MVS counterparts. Since I'm emulating my MVS and AES stuff, is there essentially no need for emulating both if you have one set up? Are there any games released on AES that were not on MVS?

AppleQueso wrote:Maybe you accidentally used the MVS bios?

Very good point, you may be right. Will check tonight. Thanks!
User avatar
fastbilly1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13646
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:08 pm

Re: Neo Geo AES on MAME - Coins?

by fastbilly1 Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:10 am

Nyukki wrote:Are there any games released on AES that were not on MVS?


AES, none that I am aware of.
NEO-GEO cd, several - but mainly Cross Swords II and Ironclad.
User avatar
ExedExes
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7334
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:56 pm
Location: HI-POINT AREA

Re: Neo Geo AES on MAME - Coins?

by ExedExes Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:49 pm

This does sound like an incorrect BIOS to me.

If you download the "cheat.dat" file for MAME, it's easy to switch over from MVS to AES. The menu you get gives you the choice of either one.

Image

Example here, Neo Drift Out:

In MVS mode, notice the "Insert Coin"

Image

In AES mode, the game should say "Press 1P or 2P Start"

Image

Another way to tell if you are in AES mode is if there is a screen or option menu that lets you select a game difficulty, and "MVS" would be one of the choices, that would be the default Level-4 arcade-style difficulty.
Image
Xeogred wrote:The obvious answer is that it's time for the Dreamcast 2.
User avatar
Nyukki
128-bit
 
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:04 am
Location: Beijing

Re: Neo Geo AES on MAME - Coins?

by Nyukki Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:41 pm

Gotcha. Didn't know about the difficulty settings. Good advice on the Bios.

Was aware of the CD games that are not on MVS, thanks for confirming on the AES.

Cheers
Return to Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests