Emu Talk Goes Here
User avatar
jay_red
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:05 am

Neo Geo emulation on xbox

by jay_red Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:48 am

I finally got around to modding my original xbox with the intention of only really playing Neo Geo games on it. After going at it for 2 days, involving the modding process, finding an emulator that works, getting roms to finally load I have partially gotten it to work. I am using Kawa-X as the emulator, and it seems to be ok, but I cant figure out why some roms load, and some dont. I got a pack that had the emulator and a hand full of roms, and about 10 of the included roms fail to load. Any rom I have downloaded from the normal places also fails to load. I assume this is going to be like with MAME where certain roms will only work with certain builds of MAME (this was the biggest pain in my ass when setting up my mame cab). I cannot figure out how to know if the Neo Geo roms I download will work with my emulator though, it is a pain to download it, FTP, restart, load the emu, fail to load the rom, repeat.

So who here is an expert with emulation on the xbox, and can help me out. Should I try a different emulator?
My trade thread, updated 7/14
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=30531&p=421248#p421248
User avatar
EllertMichael
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Neo Geo emulation on xbox

by EllertMichael Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:58 am

How big is the HDD in your xbox?
I would recommend throwing CoinOPS 5 full on there and being done with it. :wink:
Image
User avatar
jay_red
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Neo Geo emulation on xbox

by jay_red Wed Dec 26, 2012 2:25 am

EllertMichael wrote:How big is the HDD in your xbox?
I would recommend throwing CoinOPS 5 full on there and being done with it. :wink:


I have the stock drive for now, I have a larger one to throw in, but I just got it modded, and am trying to get things set up. I had not heard about that coinops 5 in all my searching over the last 2 days, but it looks awesome, I am downloading it right now!
My trade thread, updated 7/14
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=30531&p=421248#p421248
User avatar
dogman91
128-bit
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:54 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Neo Geo emulation on xbox

by dogman91 Wed Dec 26, 2012 2:28 am

EllertMichael wrote:I would recommend throwing CoinOPS 5 full on there and being done with it. :wink:

+1

That's what I use for MAME and everything works great. CoinOPS definitely has the most variety with compatibility and speed out of all the other emus along with customizable options like pixel perfect settings, game filtering, awesome GUI, etc.
Image
User avatar
JoeAwesome
128-bit
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 12:01 pm
Location: TX

Re: Neo Geo emulation on xbox

by JoeAwesome Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:18 am

IIRC, you have to check the CRCs to see that they match to work on Kawa-X. It was a pain for me, but eventually you can get them right. The CRCs are online somewhere...
User avatar
jay_red
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Neo Geo emulation on xbox

by jay_red Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:10 pm

Ok, so another question. I downloaded that coinops 5, got it transferred and my xbox sees it. I try to launch and it acts like it is going to, but then boots me back to the main screen of evox dash. I had the same issue trying to boot XBMC from the dash. Not sure what is causing this, hopefully it is just something stupid and easy...

EDIT: ok, so I did a little research, and it seems that there is a little more to getting coinops to work than i expected. There are 3 versions, Full, Lite, and Standalone. It would seem that I got the standalone version, and to get it to even boot you need to have something like 3000 roms loaded into it. I guess the Full version is like 50 gb since it comes with the roms, and the lite version will fit on the standard 8gb hdd with a ton less games. The problem with all of this is that I dont want 50 or even 8 gb of roms I dont plan plan on playing, I literally only want to get neo geo roms working. I think I will go back to getting Kawa-X working hopefully.
My trade thread, updated 7/14
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=30531&p=421248#p421248
User avatar
dogman91
128-bit
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:54 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Neo Geo emulation on xbox

by dogman91 Mon Jan 07, 2013 6:24 pm

There is a way around this... it only sees if the files are there and doesn't do anything else. What you can do is get a directory listing of the files, then make a text file with the paths with the text "type nul>" in front of each you want to delete, without the quotes, then rename the text file extension to ".bat" and then run it (if you're using Windows).
Image
User avatar
jay_red
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:05 am

Re: Neo Geo emulation on xbox

by jay_red Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:01 pm

Thanks for the tip, but I got it working to my satisfaction with Kawa-X, it turns out there is a program I have somehow missed called Rom Center, that checks a file specific to your emulator, and verifies the roms. If there is an issue it generally fixes it, most roms work now, with only a very small percent that were not fixed.
My trade thread, updated 7/14
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=30531&p=421248#p421248
Return to Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests