Emu Talk Goes Here
User avatar
Erik_Twice
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6251
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by Erik_Twice Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:47 pm

I welcome any tipcs 8)
Looking for a cool game? Find it in my blog!
Latest post: Often, games must be difficult
http://eriktwice.com/
User avatar
brunoafh
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5390
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:20 am
Location: South Carolina

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by brunoafh Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:19 pm

"Fastest way"? As in how can you play right now with minimal hassle? If that's what you mean, the fastest way is probably to download a PC Engine emulator. PCE emulation can be a little irritating though. Personally, I would download Magic Engine, obtain a bin/cue of the game, then burn and play.
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12272
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by Ziggy587 Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:12 pm

"Fastest way"? As in the fastest way to get through the game?
Image
User avatar
Erik_Twice
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6251
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by Erik_Twice Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:08 am

As in what emulator to use and how to burn the rom. Sorry for beign overly cryptic. :oops:
Looking for a cool game? Find it in my blog!
Latest post: Often, games must be difficult
http://eriktwice.com/
AppleQueso
 

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by AppleQueso Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:12 am

Echoing the PC Engine emulator suggestion.

Could probably just mount the .bin/.cue/.iso/whatever in some kinda virtual drive software and run it that way.

That's how I played it at least. The cost of a Turbo Grafx CD/Turbo Duo (or their japanese equivilants) + the cost of the game itself was just WAY too high to get it for real.
User avatar
Erik_Twice
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6251
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by Erik_Twice Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:16 am

Yeah. I'm also not really interested in any TG games so emulation ftw.

What program should I use to burn the iso? I would prefer something I can remove easily afterwards.
Looking for a cool game? Find it in my blog!
Latest post: Often, games must be difficult
http://eriktwice.com/
AppleQueso
 

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by AppleQueso Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:16 am

General_Norris wrote:Yeah. I'm also not really interested in any TG games so emulation ftw.

What program should I use to burn the iso? I would prefer something I can remove easily afterwards.


imgburn is by far the best program i've used for burning well... anything really

it's free and tiny and should be easy to remove if you want (though I'd probably keep it around, it comes in handy.)
User avatar
Ziggy587
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 12272
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by Ziggy587 Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:39 am

Definitely ImgBurn. If you wish to remove it afterwards, be sure to do it from the "uninstall a program" option in Control Panel. But really, you should just keep it installed. ImgBurn is top notch. The install folder takes up a whopping 3 MB.



Speaking of ImgBurn and Rondo of Blood...

I finally found the game image pre-patched with the new translation patch. Here: http://theisozone.com/downloads/xbox/em ... anslation/

I downloaded it last night. When I tried to mount the CUE in Daemon Tools it wouldn't let me. I haven't tried mounted in Virtual Clone Drive yet. When I loaded the CUE into ImgBurn, I get a "file type not supported" error message in reference to the WAV. I checked out the WAV file and it is indeed the correct sample rate and whatnot, so I'm not sure why ImgBurn doesn't like it.

My guess is because the way TG CD games are layed out. This is an ISO/WAV format image. But TG CD games are weird. The first track is audio, the second track is data, the next tracks are audio, the last track is data, then the CUE. I'm assuming this layout (first track being audio) is why it wont mount in Daemon Tools. I'm not sure why ImgBurn doesn't like it though, maybe for the same reason.

I noticed that it was uploaded by atreyu187, and he's a member here. He said it was burn tested using ImgBurn, so I just PM'ed him. Hopefully he'll clue me in on what I'm doing wrong.
Image
ejamer
128-bit
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:00 pm

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by ejamer Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:32 am

Fastest way to play? Wii Virtual Console.
Cheap, easy, quick, and actually legal.

Maybe it's not what you want, but it's the best answer to the question asked.
AppleQueso
 

Re: What's the fastest way to play Rondo of Blood?

by AppleQueso Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:58 am

ejamer wrote:Fastest way to play? Wii Virtual Console.
Cheap, easy, quick, and actually legal.

Maybe it's not what you want, but it's the best answer to the question asked.

...I completely forgot that this was even on Virtual Console.
Return to Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests