Page 1 of 2

Do you run emulators on PCs or Consoles?

Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 7:49 pm
by racketboy
Which do you run most of your emulators on?

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:30 am
by ravenmgs
I run most of my emulators on my xbox. The XBoX has to be the best platfourm for emulation simply because if you have a TV that takes componet imputs, there is no need for RGB converters, SuperGuns or anything, this thing just does everything. I did the 128 meg memory upgrade to mine so not only does it play all my MAME, Final Burn Alpha, Snes Ect.. Ect.. games at high speeds, I can run PSOne games streight off the hard drive! Along with N64.

The only down point to the XBoX is there is no sega saturn emulation. Any one who knows their games knows that there are some major gems on the Saturn that simply can not be left out of a serious gamers collection, this is really the only down point.

I currently own two xbox's, one stays in my room and is my XXXBOX for obvious reasons, and the other is SNKBOX which is stuck in my NeoCab 64.

I currently don't have a working moded saturn so I don't have it in my cab along side my xbox. I can probbaly get a modchip in my Japan saturn, but the magnetic sheilding is keeping it from going all the way in, and I don't have any suiteable metal cutters, and I would have to re-burn all my saturn games patched for Japan. Oh well, I'm supposed to get a good 32 pin shipped to me when a guy on the Neo-Geo.com fourms gets back from Christmas break.

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 12:57 am
by Man in Pit
I run them on my PC as I don't have the time to set up a modded xbox. I do run one or two on my PSP, but I only use them once in a while.
The Sega Saturn is very hard to emulate. I don't think there is as big a push to finish a perfect Saturn emulator. It has many features still unemulated and is very hard to work with. Do note that I can only get cassini to work right now and can't really get the other ones working.

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 10:25 am
by Wiggumon
I run all my emulators on my PC. I just haven't gotten around to modding my Xbox yet.

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 10:38 pm
by ravenmgs
Modding an xbox cost about 14-50 bucks and takes about 1 hour to setup if you have zero soldering expirence. It's simply the best thing since sliced bread.

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:01 am
by Man in Pit
ravenmgs wrote:Modding an xbox cost about 14-50 bucks and takes about 1 hour to setup if you have zero soldering expirence. It's simply the best thing since sliced bread.

With the newer mod chips, how hard is it to install a new hard drive? I might order one.

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:01 am
by ravenmgs
Man in Pit wrote:
ravenmgs wrote:Modding an xbox cost about 14-50 bucks and takes about 1 hour to setup if you have zero soldering expirence. It's simply the best thing since sliced bread.

With the newer mod chips, how hard is it to install a new hard drive? I might order one.


The oldest pinheadder based chip was something you could do in your sleep, which is like, two years old at this point.

Installing a new HD is just as easy as installing a new HD on a PC.

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:55 pm
by Jubal
its time to get my xbox modded, I checked out xbox scene but i felt lost there

anybody got decent sights/tutorial/instructions to get a 14 - 50 job done?

-Jubal-

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:16 pm
by lunar
Mainly on PC , although later it may be GP2X (handheld :)) which I'm quite interested in.

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:23 pm
by racketboy
I'm interested in one too, but the price is still kinda up there.
I'm still looking at the GB Micro and maybe a DS if it gets slimmer.