Gaming on the Playstation and Xbox Platforms
mas
Next-Gen

You got 50.00 and a PS3. What to buy first

by mas Sat May 27, 2017 9:56 pm

So I have been collecting the master system and playing retro for maybe 4-6 months straight. Taking time off on retro and dusted and cleaned up my PS3. Already got games to play for now, but seeing how low games are I think it's time to use my 50.00 gift card at GameStop. So with 50.00 what do you guys recommend. Love my fighting games, action arcade types and third person shooters and shmups
Xeogred
Next-Gen

Re: You got 50.00 and a PS3. What to buy first

by Xeogred Sat May 27, 2017 10:09 pm

I know that barely fits your criteria though.

For third person shooters I highly recommend the Dead Space series, Vanquish, and Binary Domain.
isiolia
Next-Gen

by isiolia Sun May 28, 2017 12:11 am

Hm, well, I am assuming that you want to stretch that $50 as much as you can, so here are some $10 and under recommendations along the lines you mentioned. I'm also deliberately not looking at retro compilations.

Unfortunately, Gamestop's price on Demon's Souls used is still $20 :lol:

Dark Souls as well...but if you actually want to play that (or DS2), I'll be happy to send you my never-played PS3 copies. :lol: I love the games, but I play them on PC.

Anyway...

Vanquish
Second Xeogred's recommendation of this, which Gamestop currently lists for $9.99 used.

Binary Domain
Again, second the recommendation. This one is only $4.99.

Child of Eden
Basically a rail shooter that can make use of PS Move (or Kinect on 360), but doesn't have to. Gamestop lists the PS3 version for $4.99 used.

Uncharted 2
The first one is a bit rough, the third one is kind of more of the same (though not a bad thing per se). Uncharted 2 ranks as one of the best in the series, and all of the PS3 entries are merely $2.99 used, so grabbing at least one seems reasonable.
The Last of Us is also a nice pick at $7.99, but incorporates more stealth than maybe you want.