Discuss all hardware and software modifications
gsk
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:08 am

Old Saturn Mod Chip Help

by gsk Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:16 am

I have a modded Saturn that I original got done back in the day so I could import Radient Silvergun - well worth it at the time...

...but it doesnt seem to read my burnt back ups. I've try the cdrs via SSF emu and they work fine, but my modded saturn just reads them as music cds.

any help? Were older mods just for imports? Are there certain CDR brands the Saturn cant read?
User avatar
Pullmyfinger
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:49 pm
Location: Orange County

by Pullmyfinger Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:10 pm

Are originals booting? Do burned music cds work? If not, it could be just a dirty laser.
User avatar
Adderall
32-bit
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:08 pm
Location: West Michigan

by Adderall Mon Jan 07, 2008 1:01 pm

I'd check to make sure you're burning the correct region. Also, as pullmyfinger said, are originals booting?
gsk
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:08 am

by gsk Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:02 pm

I backed up my PAL Nights using CDRWin. The orignal loads, and I have a region switch, which I tried at PAL and other settings.

By region patch do you mean that all need some editting, or just for use on other region consoles?
User avatar
Caboose
24-bit
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:19 pm
Location: Canada

by Caboose Mon Jan 07, 2008 3:52 pm

They mean the region of the image you are burning (there are apps that can change the region of games), they need to match the region of your console.
gsk
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:08 am

by gsk Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:39 am

Its a PAL Nights copied and played on a PAL Saturn - does that still need some kind of patching to the iso? Its playing burned CD music.

My Saturn had a switch on the back for 50/60htz and then a small black box inside the cartridge slot that cycles through letters and numbers for region - is that a common mod chip?
User avatar
Niode
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 7835
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: UK

by Niode Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:27 am

It sounds like it's been modded for imports but, and here's the kicker, not copies. It's two seperate mods on a Saturn. Not like a psx where the modchip allows imports AND copies.

You need a chip that goes between your laser's data cable and the motherboard. If there is no chip in there and just a 50/60hz switch you won't be able to boot backups without using the swap trick. I don't know if Racketboy still has any modchips left but you could send him a pm?
Marurun wrote:Don’t mind-shart your pants, guys
gsk
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:08 am

by gsk Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:13 am

damn, never released it was two separate mods...

Anyway, I've pm'd Racketboy about the mod chip, and I've looked over the install guide on the site - I reckon I can do :?

Thanks everyone for the replies!
Return to Hacks and Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests