Discuss all hardware and software modifications
User avatar
bk13
8-bit
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:06 am

by bk13 Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:22 am

Cool. Thanks. So it looks like I'll need Nero to burn it, right? And all I need is the .cue file to put on the disk?
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9461
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:27 am

bk13 wrote:Cool. Thanks. So it looks like I'll need Nero to burn it, right? And all I need is the .cue file to put on the disk?


Actually, there are a lot of burning programs to do it, as long as it can burn BIN/CUEs and/or ISO/MP3s.
Nero is just the most common and probably most user-friendly.
User avatar
bk13
8-bit
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:06 am

by bk13 Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:36 am

Oh, I see. Other programs can't burn the .bin/.iso/.cue files on a disk so they will work? Basically burning the CD-R as if it was a real game. Right? I'm kind of new to this stuff if you couldn't tell, so I'm not totally familiar with all the terms and such. :D
User avatar
racketboy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9461
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: Michigan

by racketboy Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:37 am

bk13 wrote:Oh, I see. Other programs can't burn the .bin/.iso/.cue files on a disk so they will work? Basically burning the CD-R as if it was a real game. Right? I'm kind of new to this stuff if you couldn't tell, so I'm not totally familiar with all the terms and such. :D


Essentially, yes. And don't worry, that's what we're here for.
We always like to see new people getting in on the fun :)
User avatar
bk13
8-bit
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:06 am

by bk13 Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:58 am

I'm having trouble installing Nero. I downloaded the demo startup, and started to install. After the bar gets almost all the way done, it gives me this message. The installer has encountered an unexpected error installing this package. This may indicate a problem with the package. The error code is 2908.

I looked online for help, but I was unable to find anything. Can you help?
User avatar
spiritplx
128-bit
 
Posts: 590
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:13 pm
Location: KCMO

by spiritplx Fri Nov 02, 2007 12:02 pm

I would suggest redownloading the installer, it almost sounds as though it is corrupted.

If that still doesn't work, maybe try restarting your computer before you try to instal again.

If that doesn't work, I am not sure what is going on.
User avatar
bk13
8-bit
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:06 am

by bk13 Fri Nov 02, 2007 12:16 pm

I downloaded it again, and it works. So I'm all set. I started burning some games with the .cue files. I'll have to wait until my chip arrives to see if it works. Wish me luck!
Mr. Stripe
24-bit
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 12:05 am

by Mr. Stripe Fri Nov 02, 2007 12:27 pm

Just so you know for when you get the chip. Test an original saturn game when you get the mod chip installed in case you did not burn the disc right. If an original works with the chip in the burnt cd will to (if you burnt it right that is.)
User avatar
bk13
8-bit
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:06 am

by bk13 Fri Nov 02, 2007 12:57 pm

Yep, that's a given. Thanks again. And now I wait... hmm...
Return to Hacks and Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests