NES, SNES, N64, Gamecube, Wii
User avatar
Erik_Twice
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6252
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Does Castlevania run slower in a PAL NES?

by Erik_Twice Wed Jul 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Because there are many games that do that, and I'm considering modding my console and importing the games.
Looking for a cool game? Find it in my blog!
Latest post: Often, games must be difficult
http://eriktwice.com/
User avatar
Satoshi_Matrix
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada

Re: Does Castlevania run slower in a PAL NES?

by Satoshi_Matrix Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:33 pm

US Castlevania? Yes, it will run 17% slower on a PAL NES.

The PAL Castlevania should play at the corrected speed on a PAL system though.
User avatar
emwearz
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does Castlevania run slower in a PAL NES?

by emwearz Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:15 pm

Because there are many games that do that, and I'm considering modding my console and importing the games.


Are you saying you are using PAL hardware, because regardless of which region you play, if its on PAL hardware it will be at 50hz (17% slower). The hardware is what determines the freq not the software.

Also it is rare for PAL Nes carts to be optimized for play on a 50hz machine, some later games (Super Mario 3, Metroid, etc) have patched the music so it plays at the correct speed (Though the tempo is off).

There are no PAL carts I am aware that have been properly optimized other than Top Gun 2. Kirby tried, but it ended up being Kirby moved at the correct speed but the enemies still moved slow, just a mess.
User avatar
Erik_Twice
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6252
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Does Castlevania run slower in a PAL NES?

by Erik_Twice Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:29 am

Sorry, I think I was confusing. Basically, game companies were very lazy and did not modify their games when they released them in Europe.

For example, Megaman, the PAL version on a PAL console, runs slower than the US version in an US console. Probotector (PAL Contra) is also slowed down and it sucks. However Super Mario Bros runs fine, with only a difference in music

I just checked and Castlevania PAL is also slowed down.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZmMXA7FpR_U&feature=related
Ugly! =/


Is this fixed if I run my console at 60Hz instead of 50Hz? I think it's a simple hack and probably worth it.
Looking for a cool game? Find it in my blog!
Latest post: Often, games must be difficult
http://eriktwice.com/
User avatar
emwearz
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does Castlevania run slower in a PAL NES?

by emwearz Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:12 am

Is this fixed if I run my console at 60Hz instead of 50Hz? I think it's a simple hack and probably worth it.


This was my point, there is no mod to get the PPU to output at a different Freq, the chip itself is different (later consoles had the same chip with different voltage to tell it which mode to run at).

So PAL consoles run at 50HZ, NTSC consoles run at 60HZ, out side of putting a NTSC PPU in your console and doing some hardcore modding, there is nothing you can do.
User avatar
Jamisonia
128-bit
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:21 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Does Castlevania run slower in a PAL NES?

by Jamisonia Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:47 am

I believe that some games have to be booted in 50hz. In the US we always add a 50/60hz switch to the consoles, if we plan to import from Europe. We boot the games in 50hz mode then switch to 60hz mode afterwards. If we don't do so the game will display a message saying this game is not compatible with your Super Nintendo or Super Famicom.
User avatar
emwearz
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does Castlevania run slower in a PAL NES?

by emwearz Thu Jul 14, 2011 6:50 pm

Jamisonia wrote:I believe that some games have to be booted in 50hz. In the US we always add a 50/60hz switch to the consoles, if we plan to import from Europe. We boot the games in 50hz mode then switch to 60hz mode afterwards. If we don't do so the game will display a message saying this game is not compatible with your Super Nintendo or Super Famicom.


Again.

The NES's video chip is different depending on which region you are in, as such you can not fit a 50/60hz switch to a NES.
Return to Nintendo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests