Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
arion
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Iceland

modding a nes

by arion Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:27 pm

i want to get rid of the region lockout on my pal nes to play us carts but since i only have one nes i need to know how much risk is involved. And weather or not i should get a extra one just in case
Last edited by arion on Tue Aug 15, 2006 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Mozgus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6623
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:31 pm

by Mozgus Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:37 pm

Isn't it just a matter of cutting out some ridges in the shell so the famicom carts will fit? Or am I thinking of SNES?
User avatar
arion
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Iceland

uhm

by arion Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:50 pm

yeah its the snes its no good to cut the ridges of anything when it comes to nes :D
User avatar
Mozgus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6623
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:31 pm

Re: uhm

by Mozgus Tue Aug 15, 2006 5:05 pm

arion wrote:yeah its the snes its no good to cut the ridges of anything when it comes to nes :D

Ok then NES is the one where the famicom carts had a different number of contacts right? The only solution is a converter bridge.
User avatar
arion
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Iceland

w00t

by arion Tue Aug 15, 2006 7:42 pm

i did some browsing and found out how to make the nes region free..and it´s alot easyer than i thought simply breaking one pin is all there is to it :D and now i can play any nes game i can get my hands on time to hit ebay big time :P
User avatar
Mozgus
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 6623
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:31 pm

Re: w00t

by Mozgus Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:46 pm

arion wrote:i did some browsing and found out how to make the nes region free..and it´s alot easyer than i thought simply breaking one pin is all there is to it :D and now i can play any nes game i can get my hands on time to hit ebay big time :P

Can you share the link then?
User avatar
Clockwork
24-bit
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:59 am
Location: ammerndorf, franconia, germany

by Clockwork Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:05 pm

dito :-)
know your roots !!!
User avatar
Pullmyfinger
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:49 pm
Location: Orange County

by Pullmyfinger Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:31 am

Yeah, all you have to do is disable the lockout chip and you're region free and also helps you experience the blinking screen effect a lot less
User avatar
arion
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Iceland

here they are

by arion Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:22 pm

this one has no pictures but it's a detailed description

http://home.freeuk.net/markk/Consoles/NES_Lockout.txt

if you dont feel like reading alot here is the most important part of it

Disconnect all peripherals/accessories, including the AC adapter, from your
NES. Turn the NES power switch on, wait a couple of seconds and then switch
it off. IT IS *VERY* IMPORTANT THAT YOU DO THIS! IF YOU DO NOT, YOU RISK
DAMAGING YOUR CONSOLE WHEN YOU OPEN IT UP! Doing this dissipates any charge
stored inside the NES. You may see the power LED light momentarily when you
turn the power switch on.


Pictures and sarcastic commentry

http://www.tylerwillis.com/2006/04/28/d ... ommentary/

odd thing is the hardest part was reassembling the nes :D
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest